Kellogg Says What?!

08/15/2011 at 1:42 pm 39 comments

Hi friends! Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend because we are back to another manic Monday.

I found an interesting article that caught my attention so I figured I’d share it with all my bloggy friends Smile

You can find the original article here

Kellogg’s and WebMd report that sugar is good for you.

“A panel of world health experts recently reviewed the scientific evidence and concluded that a high sugar intake is not related to the development of heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure or cancer.

Sugar was also not connected to behavioural problems like hyperactivity in children.2-3 As well as this, the panel did emphasise the beneficial role that carbohydrates like sugars play in health.

Children do have different needs to adults, so they have different Guideline Daily Amounts (GDAs) for sugar. But not as different as you might think.

Because they are active and growing, children are not vastly different to the “average person” used on the front of the pack. In fact, for sugar, it is very similar indeed.”

Obviously if you look through the products sold by Kellogg’s you can see how nutritional their products are…

http://www2.kelloggs.com/ServeImage.aspx?BID=99122&MD5=915e740eaa16da134033e41e225fdd3a&w=220

http://www2.kelloggs.com/ServeImage.aspx?BID=97571&MD5=4fccb413deb9d803afa502978cc9a6b3&w=220

http://www2.kelloggs.com/ServeImage.aspx?BID=96901&MD5=ba473f7fd91c3ff882bbfc741ec138ac&w=220

Hmm yea, definitely what kids should be eating…

Let’s look at the ingredients in the innocent Pop Tart:

ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, SOYBEAN AND PALM OIL (WITH TBHQ FOR FRESHNESS), CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, DEXTROSE, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, FRUCTOSE, GLYCERIN, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), POLYDEXTROSE, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, SALT, DRIED CREAM, CALCIUM CARBONATE, CORNSTARCH, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA, SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CALCIUM SULFATE), DISTILLED MONOGLYCERIDES, HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL, SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE, GELATIN, COLOR ADDED, SOY LECITHIN, DATEM, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, VANILLA EXTRACT, CARNAUBA WAX, XANTHAN GUM, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, YELLOW #5 LAKE, RED #40 LAKE, CARAMEL COLOR, NIACINAMIDE, BLUE #2 LAKE, REDUCED IRON, YELLOW #6 LAKE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), CITRIC ACID, FOLIC ACID, RED #40, YELLOW #5, YELLOW #6, BLUE #2, BLUE #1.

I don’t know about you but this is not something I want to stick in my body!

Kellogg needs to keep their priorities in order and stop sending out the wrong message to parents.

  • What do you think about this article?
Entry filed under: Health. Tags: .

[WIAW] Fashionably Late [WIWIAW]

39 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Claire @ Live & Love to Eat  |  08/15/2011 at 1:44 pm

    Maybe the “world health experts” are from Mars?

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  08/15/2011 at 2:01 pm

      Haha I second this! Really interesting article, thanks for sharing! Sorry Kellogg but you need to redefine some of your core values stat.

      Reply
  • 3. kat  |  08/15/2011 at 1:49 pm

    What garbage. Its because of things like this that so many children are obese and fighting childhood diabetes!! I’m all for letting your kid eat some fun snacks, but have this stuff everyday? No thanks!! Gahh now I never want to support kellogs lol

    Reply
  • 4. Shanna, like Banana  |  08/15/2011 at 1:49 pm

    Is it terrible that I want a s’mores poptart now? No, seriously, I reall do…

    Flavor wise, yes gimme, but the “nutrition” stats are a bit disturbing…

    Reply
  • 5. Ellie@fitforthesoul  |  08/15/2011 at 1:49 pm

    oh dannnnnng!!! haha thanks for sharing this Jenny! It’s just even LESS credible b/c Kellogg’s themselves are boasting about the healthy profile of sugar? I mean, MAYYYYBE if some really good source said it, it would be worth the consideration maybe. But I definitely don’t think it’s good!

    Sugar is one of the MAIN things that keeps children from performing well at school b/c it spikes up their blood sugar, makes them hyperactive during class without being able to focus, and then go out to recess to burn it all off. Then, they come back into class and they’re super tired and energyless.

    When I was going to school with my autistic student, I could always see this pattern with his friends and classmates as well. :(

    Some sugar is ok, but if that’s the lifestyle of a child, then it’ll be hard for him/her when he/she is an adult. Have a beautiful day girl!

    Reply
  • 6. allieksmith  |  08/15/2011 at 1:49 pm

    CRAZY!

    Reply
  • 7. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin  |  08/15/2011 at 2:06 pm

    UHM WHAT?! this article is cray cray. Sugar is definitely a cause of so many problems in children. Isn’t it obvious when you give a kid a soda and they’re bouncing off of the walls?

    Reply
  • 8. lindsay  |  08/15/2011 at 2:09 pm

    eeek, cereal needs to be less processed. Simple whole ingredients!

    Reply
  • 9. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy  |  08/15/2011 at 2:19 pm

    wow. That is crazy!

    Reply
  • 10. Ma Ma Megan  |  08/15/2011 at 2:20 pm

    CRAZY! Can’t believe there are trying to preach that sugar is good for you. Bogus article. Moderation is what should be taught.

    Reply
  • 11. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  08/15/2011 at 3:11 pm

    I definitely think it’s something they’re saying just to make their products seem healthy!! Gah, kids do NOT need any extra sugar! They have plenty of energy without it.

    Reply
  • [...] the original post here: What Kellogg Says « Fit Girl Foodie This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged acid, cocoa, corn, cream, dried, salt, soda. [...]

    Reply
  • 13. Sweet Cheeks  |  08/15/2011 at 4:21 pm

    whoa F that! I wouldn’t buy into that for a second!

    Reply
  • 14. Amanda @ Running with Spoons  |  08/15/2011 at 5:10 pm

    Sounds like someone’s getting paid under the table to put out bogus findings… I think Kellogg’s is taking a hit because of how health conscious people are getting, and they’re trying to convince people that they’re not selling trash. That ingredients list is way too long for me…

    Reply
  • 15. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin  |  08/15/2011 at 5:28 pm

    Hmmm this is interesting! Based on what I’ve learned in my nutrition classes, I think there may be some truth to this. It’s likely that sugar itself isn’t the cause of diseases – it’s the high caloric intake that is often due to high sugar intake.

    Either way though, I don’t think that people should start gorging themselves on sugary foods. :P

    Reply
  • 16. leashieloo  |  08/15/2011 at 6:32 pm

    LMAO! I’d love to believe sugar is “good” for me, but I’m not THAT gullible!

    Reply
  • 17. writingandrecovering  |  08/15/2011 at 7:35 pm

    That’s crazy and an interesting study, but that doesn’t mean that eating a pop tart is suddenly healthy. Those ingredients are scary! I’m glad I stopped eating those 4 years ago.

    Reply
  • 18. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog!  |  08/15/2011 at 8:39 pm

    HOW COULD THEY SAY THAT! That is so OFF! Makes me mad!

    Reply
  • 19. Rasha @ PBAddiction  |  08/15/2011 at 8:58 pm

    It’s sad the extent some companies go to create a certain image through advertising. Just sell a decent healthy product and don’t try to twist your words, it’s not that hard.

    Reply
  • 20. Grace  |  08/15/2011 at 10:35 pm

    Sounds crazy to me…have you tasted a s’mores pop tart, I think they out crack in them. I know it is bad for me but it tastes so good! It’s awful, I’m actually about to work on eliminating processed foods from my diet and I am really excited about it!

    Reply
  • 21. Rachel  |  08/15/2011 at 10:54 pm

    So this basically goes against my whole food philosophy! Makes me so angry when I see people promoting foods that are processed to the point of becoming chemicals. So not right.

    Reply
  • 22. bubblymel  |  08/16/2011 at 12:48 am

    Funny Stuff!!! Hmm Pop tarts have palm oil. Is that not the oil taken from palm trees where orangutangs live? Fresh whole foods all the way!!

    Reply
  • 23. Haley Q  |  08/16/2011 at 9:02 am

    Yuccckkkkk kids should not be eating this crap!

    Reply
  • 24. Rachel @ The Avid Appetite  |  08/16/2011 at 9:38 am

    Wow, that is unreal. False advertising just really needs to be stopped!! I mean, I love Pop Tarts (brown sugar cinnamon, anyone?) but I certainly do not eat them for nutritional value (or ever unfortunately).

    Reply
  • 25. Stephanie  |  08/16/2011 at 10:03 am

    Mahahaha! That’s crazy. I love how the “experts” can prove whatever it is that they want to prove. To disguise what amounts to advertising crappy stuff as “science” is just disgusting.

    Reply
  • 26. Jill @ SA Newlywed  |  08/16/2011 at 1:50 pm

    I read an article the other day that said a lot of high end restaurants are using making their own pop tart creations for dessert! How weird is that?! (Slight connection there, ha). But for real Kellogs delicious (which pop tarts are) does not equal nutritious!

    Reply
  • 27. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life  |  08/16/2011 at 2:44 pm

    Wow, is all I can say about the article! I can’t believe they are saying sugar isn’t bad for you. They can eat all of the white stuff they want, but I’m staying away from it! Thanks for posting!

    Reply
  • 28. Lisa@HealthyDiaries  |  08/16/2011 at 2:50 pm

    I think this article is crazy to be honest with you but I’m not surprised. I just hope people don’t actually believe any of this!

    Reply
  • 29. Alexa @ Simple Eats  |  08/16/2011 at 3:32 pm

    Gross gross! I can’t believe people feed their kids that junk. Granted, it’s cheaper than healthy stuff but still!

    Reply
  • 30. Allison @ PickyEatingRD  |  08/16/2011 at 4:17 pm

    This is a constant battle I have with my clients. Getting people to take a look at the label beyond protein, carbohydrate, and fat content can be a challenge. Once they do however, it is pretty eye opening for them!

    Reply
  • 31. Tiff  |  08/16/2011 at 4:23 pm

    Wow. Just because the whole “sugar high” thing is a myth doesn’t mean kids can just chow down on refined sugars whenever the want. Poptarts will never be healthy for breakfast, lunch, snack, whatever for a person of any age! Goodness.

    Reply
  • 32. Julia  |  08/16/2011 at 4:49 pm

    Kellogg is disgusting, apparently

    Reply
  • 33. IHeartVegetables  |  08/16/2011 at 6:40 pm

    Oh my gosh, that’s ridiculous!!!! I didn’t grow up on poptarts, and I’m glad I didn’t! I’ve never had more than a bite of one, because they gross me out!

    Reply
  • 34. what katies baking  |  08/16/2011 at 7:51 pm

    i think it’s BS!!
    at least if you’re going to be unhealthy don’t do false advertising

    Reply
  • 35. Laury@thefitnessdish  |  08/16/2011 at 9:25 pm

    mmmmm k uhm….yea…I have no words for that article. We should just all listen to Kellogs and I think the world health org was smoking something medicinal if you know what I mean ;-)

    Reply
  • 36. Lindsay  |  08/16/2011 at 9:39 pm

    ugghh truly sad! I can’t believe how many companies out their will say whatever they want to or need to, in order to reel in consumers. Mile long lists of unrecognizable ingredients = blech!

    Reply
  • 37. Katie @ Nutrition in a peanut shell  |  08/18/2011 at 11:24 am

    I don’t think consuming sugar in excess is okay, but there are studies that sugar doesn’t cause hyperactivity- it’s a psychosomatic thing.
    But yeah, sugar DOES cause diabetes, sorry.

    Reply
  • 38. Blair  |  08/20/2011 at 8:33 pm

    LOLLLL everything on that ingredient list is freaking made of corn!! And says ‘modified’ or ‘hydrogenated.’ I’m actually laughing right now. How… nutritious. Not.

    Reply
  • 39. Ray  |  08/23/2011 at 2:52 pm

    Although I am not condoning all of the processed and corn-derived ingredients, sugar does get a bad rap and it is necessary for our daily diets. A lot of those words look funny, but are just chemical names of sugars, vitamins.

    Although, I do not know what datem nor Sodium stearoyl lactylate are….I will look those up.

    I am not a fan of hydrogenation.

    Corn syrup is just a source of carbohydrate, and although, yes, it is probably in way too much of the mass produced foods, it is not “bad” for you.

    Have a good day, all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 103 other followers

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

