Zumba Tuesday

05/03/2011 at 2:18 pm 53 comments

Oh yes friends today I tried Zumba for the first time. Let’s just say I broke out into a sweat and it was not sexy. I’ve never been more winded from a workout in my life! I liked it though, will try it again on Thursday when I do cardio. Biggest mistake of my life was not bringing a water bottle…

Btw I updated my training log incase anyone wants to see the workout plan I’m currently on ย 

Breakfast was a usual favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate nanner oat combo topped with more nanners, peanuts,

cranberry pecan granola, and cinnamon raisin pb

If anyone saw my tweet yesterday I was faced with the most ultimate temptation

Oh yes friends, and 50% off at that. I was the bigger person and walked away.

It was no easy task…

At least there’s no temptation at home right? Wrong. This was in my freezer.

That’s not all…

My parents always go for the good stuff. Luckily everything has been consumed so no more temptation ๐Ÿ˜€

Not much going on today so I’m just going to snack on some popcorn and watch a movie

Yes this is what an unemployed person does… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Have you tried Zumba before? Love it or hate it?

I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  • If you live at home do your parents buy treats all the time?
Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Chocolate, Oatmeal. Tags: , , , , .

Dancing Legs Linking Up WIAW Style

53 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cara @ ChicMeetsHealthy  |  05/03/2011 at 2:24 pm

    i have tried zumba once and it wasnt my fav. i think dancing in front of people makes me nervous which is weird since i did cheerleading. kickboxing and body pump will always be my fav… oh! and spinning!

    Reply
  • 2. Christine @ Merf In Progress  |  05/03/2011 at 2:25 pm

    I absolutely LOVE zumba. I haven’t been to a Zumba class in about two years, but I wish I could so bad!!!

    I live “at home” with my husband and kids, and there are way too many tempting treats lying around. The *day* I started my “five weeks, three inches” plan, my mom showed up with baked ziti and a cake. Sheesh, bad timing!

    Reply
  • 3. Daniella @ Runner At Heart  |  05/03/2011 at 2:26 pm

    I have tried Zumba a few times and it is just not for me. I am not that cooridnated or have the dance moves for that type of workout, I would prefer a run anyday!

    Reply
  • 4. Alexandra  |  05/03/2011 at 2:30 pm

    Bluebell ice cream ftw! They make the best vanilla on the planet ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never tried zumba before, but a lot of my friends really enjoy it–guess I’ll have to tag along with them for a session one day!

    Reply
  • 5. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  05/03/2011 at 2:31 pm

    the first time i did zumba i hated it! but then i came around..it all depends on the teacher and it can def be a good workout!

    wow, im so proud of you for walking away from 50% off candy…that is something i couldnt do!

    Reply
  • 6. Ellie  |  05/03/2011 at 2:42 pm

    how fun!! yayyy glad you like it Jenny! I’ve been reallly curious about zumba b/c my sis wants to go, and I’m thinking of going with her to help her stay motivated. My close friend reallllyyy liked it. so i guess, what’s not to like? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Many korean older adults don’t seem to enjoy sweets as much as many people do, so my parents don’t really go all out with that. I’m thankful b/c they can eat MY treats and stay healthy! dad has high cholesterol (MILD). ok I’m done typing hehe have a great day โค

    Reply
  • 7. BrocStar  |  05/03/2011 at 2:43 pm

    I’ve never tried it but I have been wanting to. They offer it at my university for free. (Well, technically I’m practically giving up my first kid, but you know what I mean). Good for you for not eating that crap.. can’t say I would of been as strong!

    Reply
  • 8. keepnthefaith  |  05/03/2011 at 3:01 pm

    Never tried zumba, but Im sure I wont like it. Im the shy girl who doesnt want people watching me shake my thang lol Glad you liked it though ๐Ÿ™‚
    I dont live at home since Im married, but my mom STILL buys us treats!! She gives us candy/cookies/brownies almost every week. Its fine, I let my hubby eat them, but it is still a tempation!

    Reply
  • 9. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots  |  05/03/2011 at 3:05 pm

    Zumba just made me feel liek i was having a lot of fun but I didn’t get QUITE as much of a workout as I wanted, though mine was only 30 min long… super fun though ๐Ÿ™‚

    โค
    n

    Reply
  • 10. kaila @ healthy helper!  |  05/03/2011 at 3:06 pm

    I’ve never done a zumba but I definitely want to try it atleast once!

    Klondike bars are soooo good! My grandma used to have those for me every time I went to her house when I was younger…..such a treat!!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries  |  05/03/2011 at 3:10 pm

    Good for you for trying zumba! I’ve never tried it. I’m too scared haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Growing up, we NEVER had sweets of any kind at home. I know when I’m at my parent’s, I won’t be indulging in anything sweet. Now my own place? That’s a different story ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. allieksmith  |  05/03/2011 at 3:37 pm

    Love all of your delicious foods!! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚
    I GOTTA try Zumba.. it looks so fun!

    Reply
  • 13. applesnoats  |  05/03/2011 at 3:40 pm

    ahh i love zumba but i look like a complete idiot doing it…sadly got the scottish dancing gene instead of the puerto rican one!
    my parents used to buy treats all the time but now i just make them healthy treats all the time so that they feel no need to go out and buy it…score

    Reply
    • 14. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:49 am

      We gotta bring out the Puerican side! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 15. Andrea @ Vegvacious  |  05/03/2011 at 4:03 pm

    I did Zumba in a park with my mom once. We were the only people there without gray hair and it didn’t feel like much of a workout to me although it was pretty fun! My gym does a weekly class and I’ve been thinking about giving it a try again.

    Reply
  • 16. Parita @ myinnershakti  |  05/03/2011 at 4:36 pm

    LOVE zumba – I look like an idiot though! I felt so many muscles I didn’t even know I had the next day. Haha! My parents used to keep all kinds of goodies lying around – particularly chocolate, but now when I visit home, there’s nothing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
    • 17. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:48 am

      Now you miss the chocolate haha ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 18. cinnamonalicious  |  05/03/2011 at 4:49 pm

    I’ve never tried zumba because the class offered at my gym is terrible apparently ๐Ÿ˜ฆ i’d love to try a good one though!!
    Aaaah YES when i’m at home there’s soooo many treats around the house!! i’m constantly tempted! it’s terrible but it’s sooo good at the same time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  • 19. Vivianne  |  05/03/2011 at 4:52 pm

    My mom bought the Zumba workout DVDs and I love them! Once I actually got the hang of the moves they were so fun! (: It really kicks your butt!

    My brother does nothing but eat cheetos and lunchables and never gains a pound, so I hate the temptation of all his processed unhealthy junk in the cupboard ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:48 am

      Mmm cheetos, oh my ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Reply
  • 21. movesnmunchies  |  05/03/2011 at 5:12 pm

    I SO WNA TRY ZUMBA!! I think id loveeee it!!!!!!!!! sounds lie it was a GREAT workout!

    Reply
  • 22. (what runs) Lori  |  05/03/2011 at 5:20 pm

    I have tried Zumba once and it was really fun but I’m completely NOT coordinated and I felt like an idiot. A laughing and fun-having idiot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • 23. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:48 am

      I wasn’t very coordinated my first time either haha

      Reply
  • 24. katshealthcorner  |  05/03/2011 at 5:33 pm

    If either of my parents buys treats, it’s my Dad. ๐Ÿ™‚ He is too funny. My mom will send him to the store to get something, and he will always come home with something else that WASN’T on the list. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 25. Ma Ma Megan  |  05/03/2011 at 5:33 pm

    I used to be addicted to zumba. Havent done it in a few months though. I think I just got sick of it.

    Reply
  • 26. Shanna, like Banana  |  05/03/2011 at 6:05 pm

    I have yet to try Zumba..mostly because they only have it on Wed and that’s not one of my workout days. I *really* want to try it though!

    Reply
    • 27. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:47 am

      It’s fun, do it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 28. Katie  |  05/03/2011 at 6:34 pm

    Back away from the easter candy, haha! I love you! Glad you did not go to the dark side and get some!

    I love popcorn! yummy!!!

    Reply
  • 29. Kate (What Kate is Cooking)  |  05/03/2011 at 6:40 pm

    My parents rarely buy treats (I still live at home ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I’m normally the one that buys ice cream, haha! When they do bring something home, it’s normally some kind of crappy cookie that I have no problem resisting.

    Reply
  • 30. leashieloo  |  05/03/2011 at 7:01 pm

    Never tried zumba, but I’m definitely intrigued. I think I’m going to do it at home before I try it in a class setting.

    Reply
  • 31. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun)  |  05/03/2011 at 7:22 pm

    I teach step aerobics so I’m not exactly a big zumba lover. Ha-I just am too socially awkward for it.

    My parents basically shove cookies, cake and ice-cream down my throat ha.

    Reply
  • 32. Kristie  |  05/03/2011 at 7:44 pm

    I tried Zumba a few times last summer and I loved it! If I had a gym membership I’d definitely be a Zumba regular. Even though I was far from pro at it when I tried it. Holy clumsy. It seems like it would be pretty quick to get the hang of though.

    My mom buys goodies here and there but I’m a no goodie stickler so I give her a lecture every time she does. We have a lot less junk in the house on the reg than we used to ๐Ÿ˜‰ Only the odd treat… sometimes you just gotta!

    Reply
    • 33. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:35 am

      Haha I was way clumsy too but the class was filled with old ladies so I looked like a pro ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  • 34. ThE DiVa DiSh  |  05/03/2011 at 7:44 pm

    Don’t you LOVE zumba!! It is one of my favorite classes ๐Ÿ™‚ I know you love dancing, so you must have had a great time!!
    Klondike oreo??Unheard of! Do NOT tell my husband! I will have to buy 100 of them!!
    Oh and I remember seeing the temptation! If that was a box of M&M’s, I wouldnt have been as strong as you!!

    Reply
    • 35. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:34 am

      I haven’t had M&M’s in forever!! Yummm and heck yea I love the dancing ;D

      Reply
  • 36. beyondbananas  |  05/03/2011 at 7:50 pm

    I have banned my parents from buying me treats. At first they thought it was a joke.. but i started to get really angry when I showed up at home and there were 6 packages of cookies, bagels galore, ice cream…
    I told them to pick one thing. That was it.

    Reply
    • 37. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:33 am

      Lmao!!! I should try doing this ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  • 38. inspirewellbeing  |  05/03/2011 at 8:51 pm

    looks like my kind of day…. unemployment at its finest ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 39. yourdailygrace  |  05/03/2011 at 9:16 pm

    I’ve really been wanting to try Zumba…but the classes at my gym are at a weird time and I can’t find a Zumba video:( I don’t live at home but when I go home I am surrounded by tons of junk food!

    Reply
  • 40. Tara  |  05/03/2011 at 10:14 pm

    I’ve never tried Zumba before, but my friends rave about it. My family definitely buys a lot of junkfood, but if I ever want it I usually just have one bite and I’m usually satisfied. What gets me is the ice cream! If i’m hungry and I take one bite it’s all down hill from there.

    Reply
  • 41. BrittFit  |  05/03/2011 at 11:47 pm

    no to zumba yes to treats….and yes to your breakfast!! can we get a step by step on how you make those concoctions!?? MISS YA!

    Reply
    • 42. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:33 am

      Miss you too missy!! Please stop going MIA ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 43. kbwood  |  05/03/2011 at 11:49 pm

    hey girl! i loved zumba!!!! its so fun- i think it depends on your teacher tho!

    Reply
  • 44. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish  |  05/04/2011 at 1:43 am

    I’ve always wanted to try zumba!! Glad to hear you liked it! And for the record, sweaty = sexy in my book. :-p

    I faced a similar Easter candy temptation a few days ago, took a deep breath, and walked away. Cheap (yummy) chocolate is SO hard to say no to!

    My mom always buys my favorite treats (read, TONS of ice cream and macadamia nuts) when I go home for a visit. It’s so sweet of her, but then again, it really isn’t!

    Reply
    • 45. Jenny  |  05/04/2011 at 8:33 am

      Mmmm ice cream is the best ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 46. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  05/04/2011 at 8:00 am

    I’ve never tried Zumba; it sounds like a lot of fun though! I live at home and my parents buy tons of treats too! It’s tough to say no!

    Reply
  • 47. Lara @ six times the yum  |  05/04/2011 at 9:09 am

    I’ve never tried Zumba, but I want to with all my heart!!! Good job avoiding temptation. While I’m all for the occasional splurge, it feels good to be faced with ‘naughty’ food and say ‘no.’ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 48. czechvegan  |  05/04/2011 at 10:54 am

    I love zumba. At first I wasnยดt very interested but then I tried one lesson and was sold! But you definitely need a huge water bottle:) Actually my sister sometimes goes with me and she is known for never drinking more like one glass of water a day, but at the zumba class she drinks 1,5 liter of water like nothing:) Except the water the most important thing is the instructor – a funny one, who chooses great music and choreography which makes you move is a win!

    Reply
  • 49. kissmybroccoli  |  05/04/2011 at 11:17 pm

    Oh my gosh girl, you are a strong woman! Are you living on Temptation Island or what?!

    I’ve watched a bit of a zumba class…I have ABSOLUTELY no rhythm and while it seems to be perfectly easy for me to make a fool out of myself at least once a day…I refuse to do it on purpose! Haha!

    Reply
    • 50. Jenny  |  05/06/2011 at 12:37 pm

      I look pretty silly myself! lol

      Reply
  • 51. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life)  |  05/05/2011 at 5:24 pm

    What movie did you watch? I’m always looking for suggestions! Love popcorn and movies ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 52. Jenny  |  05/05/2011 at 5:43 pm

      I saw Due Date ๐Ÿ™‚ It was pretty funny I gotta say

      Reply
  • 53. Hats @ See How She Runs  |  05/10/2011 at 5:15 am

    I’d like to give Zumba a try but it’s not inclusive of my gym membership so costs about ยฃ5 a pop. There’s a class on before my Thursday BodyPump and it does look very fun (and a lot more sweaty than I’d expect).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


