How Far Would You Go?

04/07/2011 at 1:52 pm 86 comments

To lose 5, 10, 50, even 100 pounds of excess fat? Consumers are now turning to the famous HCG diet for their weight loss solution. For those of you who aren’t aware of this very popular diet it consists of pairing an HCG injection with a very restrictive low calorie diet in order to shed weight and shed it fast.

What is HCG?

  • HCG (Human Chorionic Gonadotropin) is a hormone produced during pregnancy to ensure that the growing fetus receives enough nutrients to grow and develop normally.

How does this relate to fat loss?

  • When HCG is taken, the body is able to tap into it’s stored fat and utilize it.

As if this wasn’t enough, it is paired with a 500 calorie diet so that weight loss becomes 1-2 pounds PER DAY!

Have your attention yet?

Scam or not, thousands of people are believing in this miracle product to help them achieve the body they’ve always desired. While most people eat 500 calories in theirย  breakfast alone these diet followers consume it in one day’s worth.

I got so much awesome feedback from my Eating For Health post that I knew I couldn’t let this one slide by without addressing it.

As Kate said it best:To me, it’s all about a lifestyle change. Once the injections and restrictive calorie diets are done, what do these people do next?

This diet promises people that they will lose 30 lbs in one month. Health.msn.com called this diet a “weight-loss miracle or a dangerous fraud, depending on who’s talking.”

This is not long term weight loss.ย  Something to always remember is this; the faster you lose weight, the faster you gain it back and vice versa.

What message are you teaching your children by having to inject yourself with a hormone and eat 1/4 the normal amount of calories you’re suppose to in order to be thin. Have we gone to such lengths to be skinny? This isn’t helping people develop a healthy relationship with food, on the contrary it’s pushing people in the realm of an eating disorder.

“Though hCG dieters have some leeway in how they spend their 500 daily calories, they’re urged to choose organic meats, vegetables, and fish. Dairy, carbs, alcohol, and sugar are all off limits. A day’s meals might consist of coffee and an orange for breakfast; a little tilapia and raw asparagus for lunch; a piece of fruit in the afternoon; and crab, spinach, Melba toast, and tea for dinner. If dieters slip up, they’re encouraged to compensate by drinking only water and eating nothing but six apples for 24 hours. That’s thought to help squeeze out water weight, a psychological boost to help them get back on track.”


It isn’t the injection that’s causing the weight loss, it’s the outrageously low diet. The weight loss industries are taking advantage of the ignorance of the average consumer and milking it for it’s every dime. Who knows what insane diet will show up next.

Ok enough with the rant! Now some eats ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Baked Oatmeal

With bananas, bunnies, peanuts, chocolate chips, and almond butter!

Had these babies for my snack ๐Ÿ™‚

Eggo Low Fat waffles with DCD pb, and apricot Jam

Dinner

Chicken with quinoa and veggies

Told you I eat my veggies ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hope everyone is having a fabulous Thursday! Remember to eat right and your body will love you back ๐Ÿ˜€

Thought I’d throw in a picture of me and the bf for fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

  • What’s the craziest diet you’ve done or someone else that you know has done?
Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Chicken, Chocolate, Dinner, Health, Life, Oatmeal, Quinoa, Waffles. Tags: , , , , , .

Doing My First WIAW Weekend Wedding

86 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cara @ ChicMeetsHealthy  |  04/07/2011 at 1:56 pm

    When I was younger I did the cabbage soup diet and that was the most ridiculous thing! Losing weight means changing your lifestyle. Not just losing weight for a goal because if you resort back to those bad eating habits you will gain the pounds back!

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:14 pm

      Eek cabbage? eww lol XD

      Reply
  • 3. TheNewHealthy  |  04/07/2011 at 1:57 pm

    I totally agree that it must be a lifestyle change. Everyone is looking for a quick fix – and that’s just not possible, nor is it healthy.

    The Atkins diet was probably the craziest one I’ve tried! Yuck!

    Reply
  • 4. Shanna, like Banana  |  04/07/2011 at 1:58 pm

    I saw this article awhile back and blogged about it as well. This diet sounds beyond insane and ridiculous. I mean, really? Sheesh! I just have no words for going to this extreme.

    Reply
    • 5. Alexandra  |  04/07/2011 at 2:00 pm

      Ditto, you just took the words out of my mouth. It just sounds cruel! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Your oatmeal creation looks so good!! How can people want to deprive themselves of something like that?!?!

      Reply
      • 6. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:18 pm

        Haha thanks, idk either!! I love what I eat ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 7. Lisa @ Healthy Diaries  |  04/07/2011 at 2:03 pm

    I know 2 people that have done the HGC diet.
    The first is the girl who did my makeup for my wedding. We’re friends on facebook and I get so frustrated when I hear her talking about HCG and how “Amazing” it is! Grrr how could people actually think that diet is ok?

    Second, my aunt did it. She lost a lot of weight, but she always went crazy. Like literally! It made her hormones go crazy and she completely regrets doing that diet.

    I totally agree that losing weight and keeping it off definitely depends on changing your lifestyle.

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:19 pm

      I have friends who’s parents are currently doing this diet and are happy because they are losing weight but they need to realize that this isn’t a realistic diet nor is it remotely healthy =/

      Reply
  • 9. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries  |  04/07/2011 at 2:08 pm

    I know someone who did this, and it terrified me. Obviously, she lost some weight, but it came right back almost instantly. I’m not at a place where I feel 100% happy with my weight, but I would never do something so detrimental to my own health. People need to understand that there isn’t an “app” or quick fix to health and/or weight-loss. Go slow, eat well, and the rest will fall into place.

    Reply
    • 10. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:21 pm

      Definitely!! Weight loss is commitment to health, people need to be patient.

      Reply
  • 11. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  04/07/2011 at 2:19 pm

    omg! i cant even imagine eating 500 calories? i feel as if that would be my breakfast!!!
    i love your rant – keep it real ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 12. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:21 pm

      That’s my breakfast too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Reply
  • 13. Michelle  |  04/07/2011 at 3:04 pm

    I read about this before and was so shocked! I can’t imagine injecting myself with something like that. So scary to think about!

    Reply
  • 14. Alyssa  |  04/07/2011 at 3:22 pm

    Love this. You’re SO right! And your waffles look AWESOME.

    Reply
  • 15. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin  |  04/07/2011 at 3:22 pm

    I never heard of this diet before reading this! Sadly, it doesn’t really surprise me. People will do anything for a quick fix because they’re not willing to face the reality that they need to change their lifestyle in order to lose weight. Aggh this stuff drives me crazy though! Ridiculous and dangerous diets like these should be banned!

    Reply
    • 16. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:22 pm

      It should be banned. I hope the FDA takes this junk off the market

      Reply
  • 17. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun)  |  04/07/2011 at 3:24 pm

    My housemate spent an entire week only eating 400 calories. During peek swim season (we were burning 2000+ calories everyday with 4 hours of swimming). I could not even believe she was doing this and I finally convinced her that was not okay on many levels.

    Reply
    • 18. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:22 pm

      Omg I would have passed out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ How insane

      Reply
  • 19. leashieloo  |  04/07/2011 at 3:32 pm

    OMG, I didn’t even know this diet existed! It’s terrible, have you heard about the diet where you purposefully eat a tapeworm. Ewww.

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:23 pm

      Ohh i did! It’s suppose to eat the nutrients you take in. Not really sure how you get it out tho O_o

      Reply
  • 21. BrittFit  |  04/07/2011 at 3:39 pm

    once some one who shall not be named ( not me haha i sware) ate only salad and protein bars for 2 months!

    Reply
    • 22. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:24 pm

      Better not be u missy. haha ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 23. Jess  |  04/07/2011 at 3:47 pm

    This diet literally makes me sick- and makes me want to reach out to all of these people who don’t realize weight loss is about health and can be done in a healthy way.

    Reply
  • 24. Caitlyn (The Spoonful of Life)  |  04/07/2011 at 3:54 pm

    My first thought: Why?

    Why (and how) can someone eat only 500 calories in one day? No only does that require a lot of self restraint to eat only 500 cal’s, but so much harm is being done to the body. They are basically depriving their brain, muscles, and every other part of their body of the fuel it needs to function (walk, sleep, climb stairs, lift a spoon, you name it).

    I agree with you and Katie that weight loss is all about lifestyle change. Pills and procedures may have an immediate effect, but they do not improve your quality of life! Exercise and healthier food choices are the lifestyle changes that improve quality of life!!

    Reply
    • 25. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:24 pm

      Thank you for the awesome comment. I think ppl that do this to themselves only further hurt their body

      Reply
  • 26. Mandi  |  04/07/2011 at 4:06 pm

    No way. That diet has got to be a joke. Why have I not heard of that before?! 500 calories? That’s so terrible! Why would people want to go to such lengths just to lose weight fast. I understand wanting to get to a healthy weight, but it takes time, and more than 500 calories! If I had to live off of an orange and coffee for breakfast everyday, I would not be happy (read: a pessimistic, irritated, hungry mess).
    On a lighter note though, all your eats look wonderful. And I want some of those bunnies to throw into my oatmeal too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 27. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:25 pm

      They’re organic! love them ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 28. Alexa @ Simple Eats  |  04/07/2011 at 4:25 pm

    This grosses me out. That is SO unhealthy! I would be so crabby if I ate that little amount of food per day. Yuck.
    Cute pic of you two ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:25 pm

      I get crabby if I don’t eat breakfast lol

      Reply
  • 30. katshealthcorner  |  04/07/2011 at 5:17 pm

    Oh my gosh. That diet is AWFUL!!!!! That is so depressing that people would go to such limits.

    Reply
  • 31. movesnmunchies  |  04/07/2011 at 5:37 pm

    that is SO RIDICULOUS.. this is so true “Something to always remember is this; the faster you lose weight, the faster you gain it back and vice versa.”…
    AMEN!!! the tapeworm diet is pretty crazy too!

    Reply
  • 32. Mariah@Applesnoats  |  04/07/2011 at 6:08 pm

    This is absolutely crazy!!I wish everyone could know the happiness and great health that wholesome, real food gives you instead of the misery eating that accompanies low cal diet foods!

    Reply
  • 33. Mariah@Applesnoats  |  04/07/2011 at 6:09 pm

    Ps.loving the pic!you guysare gorgeous together ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 34. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:26 pm

      Thank you Mariah! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 35. Andrea @ Vegvacious  |  04/07/2011 at 6:36 pm

    A few years ago my mom joined Curves and followed their diet, which restricted carbs. She lost a ton of weight and looked amazing, but as soon as she went back to a normal diet that included carbs all the weight came back and then some. I totally agree that you need to change your lifestyle so healthy habits become habitual. The minute you feel ‘deprived’ you’re headed for trouble!

    Reply
    • 36. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:27 pm

      All diets “works” but once you get off the diet most people don’t know what to do ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply
  • 37. pawsitivelife  |  04/07/2011 at 7:00 pm

    I just watched dr. oz on lap band surgery, this one woman four years after can only eat 4 noodles for dinner. Thats insane!! I think I would prefer to be a little chunky as I get older as it fills the wrinkles out

    Reply
    • 38. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:27 pm

      My friends had lap band surgery and they are fatter then they were before -.- go figure

      Reply
  • 39. karenlovescardio  |  04/07/2011 at 7:50 pm

    Just came across your blog! What an awesome post! I saw this diet on the news the other night and wanted to die. 500 calories!!!!! Um, I consume that daily before noontime. The lengths people will go to get skinny “quick” is really sad. No one wants to believe in good old fashioned hard work and eating a healthy, nutritious diet. Keep on educating the world, we need all the help we can get!

    Reply
    • 40. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:28 pm

      Thank you for reading! And yess it is really sad. 500 calories is nothing!

      Reply
  • 41. simplynutritiouskate  |  04/07/2011 at 7:53 pm

    I have heard of this before I cannot believe people really think this works ahhhhh makes me crazy! Thanks for quoting me ahaha I feel like a celebrity! ooh and I just noticed that parfait on your sidebar, my mouth is watering it looks delicious. Glad you survived the salon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 42. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:28 pm

      Haha I did! I was there for like 3 hours O_O I loved your comment, I had to post it ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 43. what katie's baking  |  04/07/2011 at 8:05 pm

    500 calories a day!?!? seriously?! what is wrong with people… uggh!!!!

    anyway, your eats always make me super jealous! come make my meals, please!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 44. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:29 pm

      Anytime! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 45. Ma Ma Megan  |  04/07/2011 at 8:12 pm

    One of my family members did the HCG diet. Twice actually. He was cranky and starving all day. Sure, the weight came off but within a few months it came back on.
    I wish people could just see how delicious it is to eat HEALTHY. Not just look for quick fixes.

    Reply
    • 46. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:29 pm

      I would be uber cranky too lol

      Reply
  • 47. Meg  |  04/07/2011 at 9:51 pm

    NO WAY! I was JUST reading about this diet this morning…ugh I think it’s awful and a quick, but NOT a lasting “fix” and totally unhealthy. Amen sista!

    Mmm apricot jam and DCD?! Wowza gotta try that!

    Reply
    • 48. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:29 pm

      Amazing combo ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  • 49. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous.  |  04/07/2011 at 9:52 pm

    Your oatmeal looks so good I want to eat it right now!

    Reply
  • 50. Tara  |  04/07/2011 at 10:38 pm

    I never did an official “diet”, but I went throught a phase where I had to burn at least 500 extra calories exercising and eat 1000 – 1200 calories a day. I mean, I didn’t HAVE to, but my mind told me I did. I’m still working on the lifestyle changes to maintain a healthy mindset with regard to food.

    Reply
    • 51. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:30 pm

      That’s the way to do it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 52. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition  |  04/07/2011 at 11:02 pm

    I have heard so much about this HCG diet! My BF’s mom is on it and she injects it into her stomach with a needle! So gross. She has lost a lot of weight but it’s so unnatural and unrealistic. My prediction is that she will gain it all back and then some….It can’t be good for you body. I second what Kate said!

    Reply
  • 53. Kate (What Kate is Cooking)  |  04/08/2011 at 12:01 am

    500 calories in a day?! Uh, that’s like one of my meals! It’s really sad that people are so misinformed about things like this, and they think starving themselves on a fad diet is the only way to lose weight.

    Reply
  • 54. ThE DiVa DiSh  |  04/08/2011 at 12:58 am

    I am shocked! I can’t even believe that article!..
    I had a friend who would get shots in her stomach to help her loose weight. It is scary the measures some people go through to look a certain way..

    You food looks yummy though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 55. allieksmith  |  04/08/2011 at 7:17 am

    Nice rant! What a psycho article. Seriously..
    I love all of your food pictures and you and the bf!

    Reply
    • 56. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 57. Gina  |  04/08/2011 at 8:30 am

    My friend did the baby food diet! So nuts!

    I’ll be in FL the 14th-24! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 58. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:31 pm

      Yay! Hope to see you ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 59. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons  |  04/08/2011 at 8:30 am

    There is just so much pressure in society…

    not just to be thin! but to DIET! I studied dietetics for that reason (and the C-word running rampant in my fam. cancer. mother effer. it needs to go DOWN!) and I just really want to shout tips for lifestyle changes from the rooftop =) Great post love!

    Reply
    • 60. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks Jenn ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 61. Parita @ myinnershakti  |  04/08/2011 at 8:33 am

    I’ve never really gone on a “diet” before, but I’ve done the whole work out as hard as you can and restrict your calories thing. Not good! I heard about this diet and the Cookie diet back in January and it blew my mind that clinics and doctors were actually endorsing it!!! WHAT?! Then I heard that a few women on my team were big fans and were spreading the word at work…I was so mad! Not.a.fan!!!

    Reply
    • 62. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:32 pm

      Everyone spreads their stupid diet around lol Gets me so mad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply
  • 63. cupcake dynamite  |  04/08/2011 at 9:12 am

    EWWWWW. I totally agree with you like DUH it’s obviously the 500 calorie diet making you lose that weight! I’ve restricted calories that much in the past and I would NEVER EVER do it again.. EVER! Soooo awful for you, and like you said that totally cannot be sustained for life. Sad.

    -Jamie

    Reply
    • 64. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:32 pm

      I think the lowest I ate one time was like 800. No idea how the hell i did it

      Reply
  • 65. TheNoviceNosher  |  04/08/2011 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve never heard of this diet before, this is shocking! How is it normal to inject yourself with a hormone and eat only 500 calories a day?!? I get angry when I hear about these ridiculous diets but people can get so fixed on quick fixes that they don’t care about being undernourished and unhealthy.

    I know people who’ve done a soup-only diet, a juice cleanse, an oatmeal-only diet…it’s crazy the kinds of diets that are out there.

    Reply
    • 66. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:33 pm

      I hate the juice cleanses! People need to eat FOOD lol

      Reply
  • 67. thehealthyapron  |  04/08/2011 at 2:34 pm

    Ug HCG, say no more. So annoying!! As a dietitian, I’ve had to infomr MANY people that this is NOT The diet to be on!

    Reply
  • 68. Nicole, RD  |  04/08/2011 at 3:14 pm

    Way to spread the word about the dangers of this diet trend. Once upon a time, I fell victim to the Atkins diet. That may be my biggest life regret, but hey, I figured it out and devoted my life and career to healthy eating!

    Reply
    • 69. Jenny  |  04/08/2011 at 3:33 pm

      Hopefully everyone else can change their habits too ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  • 70. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  04/08/2011 at 3:59 pm

    That diet is so dangerous!! I think it’s absolutely ridiculous and another “quick fix” that won’t last once they actually go back to eating. I see signs around here that say “HCG Diet here!” and it’s sad..I absolutey hate it!

    Reply
  • 71. Justeen @ Blissful Baking  |  04/08/2011 at 4:33 pm

    I really hope people don’t buy into the ‘losing 30 pounds a month’ scam! This diet could be really detrimental!! I agree that losing weight is all about changing yoru lifestyle.

    Reply
  • 72. Allison @ Running With Mascara  |  04/08/2011 at 4:52 pm

    Wow! I hadn’t heard of this yet! But I’m glad you’ve addressed it. It is utterly ridiculous and truly preys upon desperate people. Can’t we find a way to help these people instead of injecting them with false hopes and tricking them? Great post!

    Reply
  • 73. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices  |  04/08/2011 at 4:58 pm

    OH my gosh- so crazy you do a topic on this. One of my bridesmaids told me she was going to do that HGC diet for my wedding. I was like NO NO NO- please do NOT do that! It is soooo scary & who knows what the side effects could be!
    I told her she is already gorgeous & NO need to lose weight, especially like that- how scary!

    Reply
    • 74. Jenny  |  04/09/2011 at 8:55 pm

      My friend is going to do it too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply
  • 75. Ellie  |  04/08/2011 at 5:47 pm

    i sooo hope this goes off the market!! it’s truly scary and dangerous~~great post Jenny!!

    Reply
  • 76. whitney  |  04/08/2011 at 6:44 pm

    I think anyone would lose a pound a day if they were eating 500 calories! duh. Why would anyone do that to themselves?

    Whitney

    Reply
  • 77. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)  |  04/08/2011 at 10:16 pm

    just wanted to say thanks for all the awesome comments you leave me ๐Ÿ™‚

    the last pic of you is great!

    Reply
  • 78. moveovercelery  |  04/08/2011 at 10:22 pm

    Oh my goodness! Why would anyone want to do that? Maybe I’m complaining because I love food too much. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You and your boyfriend are so cute! I also love that you had waffles. I haven’t had waffles in forever! Make a good recipe? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 79. Olivia  |  04/09/2011 at 9:02 am

    mmm great eats going on in this posts; love those bunnies! OMG that is the most ridiculous diet ever…of course you’re going to lose weight on 500 cals cuz you’re STARVING yourself! how can people not realize this is unhealthy!?

    Reply
  • 80. paoang  |  04/09/2011 at 9:49 am

    Whoa, I’d never heard about this diet before at all. It’s INSANE! And it is sad how far people are willing to go to lose weight. This just goes to show that most of the times, people choose being skinny over being healthy without knowing that sometimes it is indeed possible to have one without the other.

    Your baked oatmeal looks GREAT!!! And i love quinoa ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 81. Lauren  |  04/09/2011 at 11:31 am

    500 calories a day? Uhhh that is no way to live! I wish everyone knew it was as simple as eating REAL food and getting some exercise. Cute picture ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 82. Flo (Coconut Chronicles)  |  04/09/2011 at 1:54 pm

    Oh my gosh! I am so shocked by that ‘diet’! I can’t believe people could EVER think that was healthy.
    On a slightly lighter note, however, I LOVE your baked oatmeal! It looks sooo good especially with all those toppings!!!

    Reply
  • 83. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  04/09/2011 at 2:19 pm

    I definitely agree that it is a lifestyle change! Dieting is a horrible word, and it always makes me think of minimizing caloric intake and not being able to eat the good things we all love. Healthy living is about doing things in moderation, exercising, cooking with fresh ingredients and LOVING LIFE! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post, girl!

    Reply
  • 84. Weekend Wedding « Fit Girl Foodie  |  04/09/2011 at 5:58 pm

    […] a different note, I love all the feedback I received on my post pertaining to the HCG diet. It’s great that most of you are already aware of the dangers of this diet. My best friend […]

    Reply
  • 85. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots  |  04/09/2011 at 8:21 pm

    I think anything htat has you losing that much per day cannot be healthy, nor is it sustainable long-term… but people sure like quick fixes :/

    Reply
  • 86. Anelle  |  04/16/2011 at 11:56 am

    OMG this has to be the craziest diet I’ve ever heard of!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


