The Road Ahead

03/23/2011 at 3:24 pm 56 comments

β€œOne day Alice came to a fork in the road and saw a Cheshire cat in a tree. Which road do I take? she asked. Where do you want to go? was his response. I don’t know, Alice answered. Then, said the cat, it doesn’t matter.”

For a long time this was me. The girl that wandered the path with no direction.

What did I want out of life? The question was mind boggling. I changed my mind faster than a child switched toys. It was easy growing up. You did as you were told. Going to school, making friends, doing homework, everything was mapped out. The real world is much different. Even throughout undergrad I never really thought about being an adult. I lived at home, majored in Biology with the intention of pursuing a degree in Physician Assistant studies. The rest of my peers had pre-med pursuits. I applauded them for it but knew deep inside that it wasn’t for me. My graduation was one of the happiest moments of my life. I got further than both my parents and brother in my education. I was the first to uphold a Bachelors Degree. It seemed like the end of an era but it only marked the beginning.

I am very resistant to change, I prefer if things stayed as they were and I could live happily every after. Not the case. Before I graduated I filled out forms for 2 Masters programs in my city with the intention of getting in no sweat. Plan failed, miserably. I didn’t get into one and am still waitlisted for the other. In the span of these 3 months I probably changed my career path 3 times. Sad huh?

I was all over the place and it started concerning my parents. I deviated into pursuing a career as a Dietitian until I realized most people don’t want to be helped and those that do want it the easy way. Diet pills and patches are becoming a billion dollar industry while the majority of people continue to stuff their faces at McDonald’s. There really is so much one can do. Just the word “dieting” sends shivers down a person’s spine. I crossed fields of medicine, nutrition, psychology, and sociology just to find a career that I could find myself doing. At the end of the day, just follow your heart and follow it with full force. Why in the world would I think about doing another career just because I wasn’t accepted this year? I never thought of myself as being a quitter. For months, I thought that my entire undergrad education was a failure and that I was just an embarrassment who couldn’t get into graduate school even with a 3.5 gpa. I second guessed every decision that I made and spent every moment consumed in my own self pity. Never let a step back make you stumble down, take it as an opportunity to take a giant leap forward. It’s not a race, and even though I might not get in this year, I won’t let it deter me from my ultimate goal πŸ™‚ Moral of the story “Just Do It” Nike said it best πŸ˜€

Graduation December 2010

I can’t end this post without at least posting some delicious foodie pics πŸ˜‰

My first Chobani review is on the peach! πŸ™‚ Overall it was like a 5/10. To me it tasted like regular greek yogurt with pieces of peach at the bottom. It was tasty but I expected something different. I love my mix-ins too much to eat this yogurt plain, so I turned it into this

Topped it with Fiber One Yogurt Cluster cereal, strawberries, and some Walden Farms caramel syrup. Good? You betcha! πŸ™‚

I also made fro-yo πŸ™‚ Yes I know I’m obsessed with oats, cereal, and fro-yo. Sue me πŸ˜€

Cheesecake Fro-yo

Cheesecake flavor was amazinggg and topped with 1/2 pack of 100 calorie cookies. Yummy!

  • Are you mercurial like me or did you always know what you wanted in life?

 

Entry filed under: Cereal, Life, Yogurt. Tags: , , , , , .

Sweetest Thing Battle Of The Oats

56 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyssa  |  03/23/2011 at 3:55 pm

    I’m in love with that Fiber One Yogurt Cluster cereal! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  03/23/2011 at 3:55 pm

    omg post that cheesecake fro yo recipe PUH LEASE!!!

    Reply
    • 3. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 2:49 pm

      Will post up soon! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 4. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries  |  03/23/2011 at 4:14 pm

    Reason #43459083 that we need to hang out πŸ˜‰ My God, I’m IN graduate school and I STILL change my career ideas often. I find that the more I learn, the more I want to do. How to do one thing without feeling like I’m missing out on something else? Or, on the other hand – will I EVER get a job once I’m out of here?! Seriously, you’re not alone. And not getting into a grad program is NOTHING to be embarrassed about. I applied to 5 and got into 1. Things happen for a reason πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 5. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 2:50 pm

      We must have been like bff’s from another lifetime haha πŸ™‚ Love ya girl!

      Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  03/23/2011 at 4:47 pm

    I’m a little bit of both, I think! I’ve always known what I wanted very big picture (live in NYC, be successful in something… blah blah) but the career took me a while. Now that I have it figured out I 100% know want I want though!

    Reply
    • 7. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 2:53 pm

      Nothing better than having it all figured out πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 8. Ellie  |  03/23/2011 at 5:07 pm

    Jenny thanks so much for sharing this personal post!! I know that no matter what you do, God will show you the BEST way for you. He truly has beautiful things in store for ya! It may be scary, but remember that your identity is who you ARE, not what you DO. I hope that encourages you girlie πŸ™‚ have a grrreat dayyy! <33

    Reply
    • 9. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 2:59 pm

      Aww thank you so much Ellie! It’s great to have friends to like you πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 10. Be fit and be fabulous  |  03/23/2011 at 5:07 pm

    I love your attitude. πŸ™‚ Pursuing what you love with full force and with zealous is the best way to go. Good for you, girl!

    I definitely change my mind a lot! I’ve been wanting to be a dietician/nutritionist but now I’m thinking more of a chef! But I still got another year of highschool to think about things.

    I had my first chobani a few days back- I’m like you. I gotta have some crunch or toppings on it to make it complete πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 11. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:01 pm

      A chef would be awesome! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 12. Kate (What Kate is Cooking)  |  03/23/2011 at 5:17 pm

    I’ve always kind of had an idea of what I wanted to do, but it’s changed a few times. All part of being young πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 13. movesnmunchies  |  03/23/2011 at 5:24 pm

    ive always been a goal driven person.. so ive always known what ive watned to do!! well its changed but i feel SO confident now that its awesome!! i can imagine how hard it would be tho to be unsure and go through so many different things!

    Reply
  • 14. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun)  |  03/23/2011 at 5:28 pm

    I love Walden Farms caramel syrup. Seriously by far the greatest invention besides their chocolate sauce of course. I have also been such a goal oriented overachiever ha. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 15. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous.  |  03/23/2011 at 5:43 pm

    For the longest time I thought I was going to vet school. I even decided at 10 years old that I was going to go to Cornell. I put every effort into that, including working at a veterinary hospital, until sophomore year of my undergrad I changed my mind. I didn’t love it anymore and switched to nutrition. Best decision of my life!

    Reply
    • 16. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:05 pm

      Glad you made the right choice! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 17. Justeen @ Blissful Baking  |  03/23/2011 at 6:10 pm

    I am dying for a bite of that cheesecake froyo!!

    Reply
  • 18. ThE DiVa DiSh  |  03/23/2011 at 6:21 pm

    OH my! I was and still AM all over the place πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 19. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  03/23/2011 at 6:30 pm

    Love this post! I’ve been working full-time for almost a year, and I still don’t know what I really want to do in life. Sigh…

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:06 pm

      Hope you find it Soph πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 21. Shanna, like Banana  |  03/23/2011 at 6:37 pm

    Okay first…the Peach Chobani is one of my least faves..try Vanilla, Bluberry or Black cherry..they are all way better πŸ˜‰

    Second, phenomenal post! The state of our economy has propelled more students than ever to apply for graduate school making it that much harder to get in. Perhaps this ia blessing in disguise so you can figure out what makes your heart sing πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 22. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:08 pm

      Can’t wait to try the others, I was pretty disappointed with the Peach

      Reply
  • 23. cupcake dynamite  |  03/23/2011 at 8:14 pm

    My mom ALWAYS teases me because I never really know what I want to do. I think it’s a GOOD thing to have so many interests that you could travel down so many different paths! I’m sort of all over the place too, but I try my best at everything I pursue..and I think that’s what matters most!! I totally agree with your “Just do It” attitude- I THOUGHT I wanted to go to law school but didn’t get in, then “thought” I was crushed. Now I have a great job writing and couldn’t be happier with it! It’ll all work out.

    -Jamie

    Reply
  • 24. paoang  |  03/23/2011 at 8:31 pm

    Jenny dear, thank you SO much for sharing this!
    Great post indeed. I am wishing to pursue a career in medicine, but ultimately don’t know where I’ll end up…it’s nice and helpful to hear about others’ experiences!

    Maybe what happened to you happened for the best- maybe you won’t see it now, but in time you will. I like to say to myself that everything turns out okay in the end; and if it doesn’t, then it’s not the end! And it is true πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a great rest of the week, and best of luck!
    ❀

    Reply
    • 25. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:09 pm

      The very many bio classes I took at UM lol very intense!

      Reply
  • 26. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!  |  03/23/2011 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing this girl! Lovely post!

    Reply
  • 27. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel  |  03/23/2011 at 8:45 pm

    wow- cheesecake froyo! you just created a new sensation that looks ADDICTIVE!! ❀ such a great idea for 100 calorie snack packs too πŸ™‚

    Love you girl- i support you 100%. JUST DO IT is one of the best mantras (thanks Nike) πŸ™‚ hehe

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 28. Katie  |  03/23/2011 at 8:53 pm

    Awwwww great post! Love posts that have some inspiration or tell a little more about the blogger ; ) You look beautiful in your grad pic too!!!

    Loving the fro-yo! I need some in my life!!!

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  03/25/2011 at 11:48 am

      Haha thank you πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 30. simplynutritiouskate  |  03/23/2011 at 8:55 pm

    I have gone through phases, I always knew I wanted to do something with health and nutrition. My sophmore year in college I decided I wanted to go to culinary school after graduation and now I want to become a holistic nutritionist… basically I just keep going to school!

    Reply
  • 31. mindrunningwild  |  03/23/2011 at 9:04 pm

    A) Froyo is my FAV
    B) how does that walden farms stuff taste? I’ve seen it around but have been wary about the taste/ingredients….

    Reply
    • 32. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:11 pm

      Some things are better than others. The dip is ok but their syrups are delicious πŸ™‚ Never get the pb lol I’ve heard terrible things

      Reply
  • 33. Laury @thefitnessdish  |  03/23/2011 at 9:05 pm

    I have always known I wanted to do something with nutrition and fitness since I was very, very young. However, back then I though I was just going to be a movie star and never have to worry about anything πŸ˜‰ Even though I am doing what I love, I am still looking ahead at what I can do next within this field. I love you attitude about it all though.

    Reply
  • 34. cupcake dynamite  |  03/23/2011 at 9:30 pm

    I’m with you lady! I changed my major three times in college and I already made a career switch and I’m only 24!! On another note – YES, please share how you make this fro-yo! πŸ˜‰

    -courtney

    Reply
  • 35. katshealthcorner  |  03/23/2011 at 10:21 pm

    Ohmygosh, I love your mix-ins!!! πŸ˜€ You are so smart! πŸ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
  • 36. BrittFit  |  03/23/2011 at 11:26 pm

    surprisingly right now I THINK i know what I want…but hey things change all the time !

    Reply
  • 37. Maryann (The Balanced Bean)  |  03/24/2011 at 1:27 am

    I know this sounds cliche, but things always work out for the best!! It will all come together for you, I have no doubt πŸ™‚ I am very picky when it comes to making “small” decisions, but for the big ones, I usually know what I want πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 38. Parita @ myinnershakti  |  03/24/2011 at 9:56 am

    Thanks for sharing your story, Jenny! You remind me of my bf…determined! I love it! He applied to med school 3 times before getting accepted this past year – perseverence pays off. You will achieve your dreams because you are hardworking and positive! And I can’t wait to read about it when you do!

    Reply
    • 39. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:12 pm

      I definitely do believe in perseverance! Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 40. blissfulhope  |  03/24/2011 at 10:07 am

    I completely agree! I knew I wanted to something healthcare related my entire life and was always so set on dental school until I struggled with studying for the DAT and decided to do a general Biomedical Science Master’s program. Through these past 2 years I slowly began to discover my passion for nutrition and exercise, so I decided to do the physician assistant route as well. Never let go of your goals, you will get there and be a better person because of it. I am living proof πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 41. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:13 pm

      You’re doing P.A? Yay how awesome!! Where are you applying?

      Reply
  • 42. Lauren  |  03/24/2011 at 1:12 pm

    This post is so perfect for me right now. I’m graduating in a little over a month and have NO plan. I’m scared for my life 😦

    Reply
    • 43. Jenny  |  03/24/2011 at 3:13 pm

      Lol I felt the same when I graduated! Scaryyy :O

      Reply
  • 44. This Italian Family  |  03/24/2011 at 3:05 pm

    Cheesecake froyo? That sounds fabulous!

    I’ve always known where my passions lie and I’ve always DONE those things, I just haven’t necessarily had paying jobs doing those things. I love teens so I volunteer with them. I love animals so I volunteer at the humane shelter. Stuff like that. πŸ™‚ But yeah, definitely haven’t always had the exact job I really wanted.

    Reply
  • 45. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy  |  03/24/2011 at 5:08 pm

    I’m right there with you! I’ve changed my mind SO many times over the years and then right when I think I know what it is I want to do–I learn something new and change my mind. Ah! I think it’ll just all fall into place eventually. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 46. adventuresofpretendcook  |  03/24/2011 at 7:53 pm

    Great post. I feel like I am still searching for the path that I am supposed to be on.

    Reply
  • 47. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons  |  03/24/2011 at 8:08 pm

    I always change my mind =)

    I am so weird – I like my yogurt plain — the mix ins are sooo much fun but I think i’m too lazy to add things. haha!

    Reply
  • 48. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin  |  03/24/2011 at 9:55 pm

    You go girl! I think it’s soo admirable how you know what you want and you’re not giving up! πŸ˜€

    For the longest time I thought I wanted to go into some sort of science or medical career, but last year I realized I hated my program and I switched to nutrition. I feel SO much happier now that I’m doing something I love!

    Reply
    • 49. Jenny  |  03/25/2011 at 11:49 am

      Glad you figured it out!! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 50. Chocolate-Coated Runner  |  03/24/2011 at 10:39 pm

    Some things I know what I want, and some things I’m still discovering!! Life is great.

    Reply
  • 51. Tara  |  03/24/2011 at 11:12 pm

    Nike definitely said it best with “Just Do it”, it’s the phrase I live by! I can’t imagine how stressful it is to keep changing, but I think that’s how we are lead to what we truly desire. We wouldn’t feel the need to change if we were in the right place. You just have to keep trying until things go right, although sometimes it’s hard with money, time, and what not.
    I have an idea of what I want to do, but I’m not sure exactly. I don’t have to decide yet though, but I’m going to have to do some serious thinking about it in the next few years!

    Reply
  • 52. Veronica  |  03/25/2011 at 12:52 am

    I’m so NOT mercurial. I really hate change too, which means as soon as I am on a path I don’t deviate if I can help it. For years after leaving home, I still longed to be back there and in high school and having nothing changed from when I was still a kid and things seemed easier. Being a grown up is so much harder, I agree! I’m glad you’ve figured out what you’re doing and are sticking to your guns, as you know what will make you happy and what you’ve been working toward. Much luck to you!! I can’t wait for that froyo recipe, BTW. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 53. Jenny  |  03/25/2011 at 11:50 am

      I miss the old days πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 54. Christina  |  03/25/2011 at 9:52 am

    Thanks so much for sharing your story! The line “just do it” pretty much sums up everything I do! My husband recently took a new position in a new state and I have no idea if I want to continue with my career when I move or go back to school….so many choices and decisions! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 55. Jenny  |  03/25/2011 at 11:51 am

      Hope everything falls into place Christina πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 56. kissmybroccoli  |  03/26/2011 at 8:20 pm

    I had absolutely NO idea want I wanted to be when I “grew up.” I entered my sophomore year thinking I would just continue taking core classes until something perked my interest when I was told that if I did not make a decision BEFORE the year was up, I wasn’t going to be able to graduate in 4 years….can we say PANIC?!

    So I sat down one afternoon and went through the university’s book of majors/minors. All I knew at that point was that I enjoyed biology and was kind of interested in the medical field…but no blood! :-/

    In a few hours, I narrowed it down to radiologic technology (x-ray) or healthcare management. I ended up going with x-ray once I found out it had more job security, but honestly, I picked it b/c taking pictures of people’s bones “sounded cool”! Haha

    And now, I’m almost 4 years out of school and I have to say I love everything about my career! Best snap decision I ever made! πŸ˜‰

    Ok, now that I’ve written a novel, I will end it with this…

    Cheesecake fro-yo? Drool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


