Worn Out Wednesday

03/02/2011 at 8:05 pm 45 comments

Happy Humpday everyone!

I love Family guy πŸ˜‰

Hope everyone has been having a great day so far, I woke up so tired from yesterdays beach day. I’m not complaining, but my body just wanted to stay in bed all day. Can’t be having that on a workout day so my butt went straight to the gym. Don’t you just hate when you wanna go somewhere quickly and there’s school zones?! 😦 Gahhh, I ran into 3 of them.

Gym time went great and I loved that it was short πŸ™‚

  • Deadlifts: 155lbs was my max. I hit 5 repetitions which was my goal so next week I’ll go up in weight and hence hit a new PR. πŸ˜€
  • Arnold Presses: 40 lbs, 3 sets of 5 repetitions
  • My ab exercises consisted of cable and crunches and leg raises.

I was so soreeeeee X{ but in a good way, I love pushing my body to new extremes.

I’m not one to workout fasted but I was in a hurry and a big bowl of oats would have just sat in my tummy for hours. So breakfast came after my workout

I finally have nannerssss πŸ™‚ So I said bye bye pumpkin for today

Chocolate Nanner Oats!
Mmmmm my favoriteeeee. I topped this baby with chocolate chips, graham crackers, peanuts, and almond butter.
Drooling yet? πŸ˜‰

Seriously if I can’t wait up to dessert and chocolate for breakfast then I don’t wanna wake up. And to think of all the people who dislike oatmeal?Β  I will never understand it…

Today was a pretty busy day, I was shadowing again at the Urgent Care Center with my friend who works as a Physician Assistant.Β  Not too many patients today, so not much to see. Still interesting to look at x-rays and what not. I saw one with Pneumonia.

Idk if you guys knew but I had stopped eating meat for about a year because my boyfriend cut it out of his diet. My parents buy the high fat meat anyways so it was something I wouldn’t eat regardless. Well we finally introduced it back into our diet this past weekend.

We bought a lean cut of beef and made beef stir fry with green peppers and onion. It seemed natural to have white rice as our side dish πŸ™‚ To be honest, the meat was tough and not something I’d probably eat again. We might experiment with a different cut next time, this one just didn’t do it for me.
  • Do you eat meat on a regular basis?
  • Any good cuts of meat you recommend for next time?
Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Chocolate, Fitness, Lunch, Oatmeal, Rice. Tags: , , , .

Beachin It Oats, Sammies, and Froyo

45 Comments Add your own

  • 1. april  |  03/02/2011 at 8:42 pm

    Are you doing 40 pounds per arm on those presses?? If so, I’m impressed!!

    And I think I missed it- but what are you shadowing/going to school for?

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  03/02/2011 at 8:44 pm

      I wish! 20lbs on each. I was doing overhead presses with the squat barbell and I was doing heavier weight but my form started getting outta whack. I wanna go to Physician Assistant school πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • 3. april  |  03/02/2011 at 8:55 pm

        That is still good!! Isn’t it weird how arnold presses are harder than regular??

        And sweet!! I’m going to go for my NP! πŸ™‚

  • 4. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak)  |  03/02/2011 at 10:18 pm

    Actually those oats did make me drool! How did you know :).

    Reply
  • 5. BrittFit  |  03/02/2011 at 11:22 pm

    what brand are those chocolate things on your oatmeal…. IM DROOOLLLINGGG OVER HERE!!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Ellie  |  03/03/2011 at 1:04 am

      That looks like the choc chunks from Ralphs! I may be wrong though πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • 7. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 8:37 am

        Nestle Semi Sweet chocolate morsels πŸ˜‰

  • 8. Ellie  |  03/03/2011 at 1:06 am

    I eat meat sometimes here and there, but don’t rely on it anymore. Especially b/c of indigestion. I don’t quite remember the cut names! sowwiee

    Reply
  • 9. megan @ the oatmeal diaries  |  03/03/2011 at 1:49 am

    Haha I don’t understand how people don’t like oatmeal either!! Crazy. Yours look great!!

    Reply
  • 10. mealsformiles  |  03/03/2011 at 7:45 am

    Oatmeal is an amazing invention. I’m definitely not a beef expert – I only eat it a few times per year, but maybe try cooking lean cuts differently, for a longer time so it can tenderize more?

    Reply
    • 11. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 8:37 am

      Thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 12. Kate  |  03/03/2011 at 8:06 am

    i have started eating more meat since living with art. i really like pork tenderloin. it is pretty lean and quite flavorful. epicuirous always has good recipe ideas for meats too.

    Reply
    • 13. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 1:02 pm

      Pork tenderloin sounds delicious πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 14. kissmybroccoli  |  03/03/2011 at 8:15 am

    I will NEVER understand people who don’t like oatmeal! I am convinced that if they have a “blogger special” bowl that we would surely convince them! πŸ˜‰

    I don’t eat a lot of meat, but usually when I do crave it, I go with boneless skinless chicken breast…like in my dinner last nite! Tasty!

    Reply
    • 15. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 1:03 pm

      Haha a blogger special bowl! I think we could convert anyone that way πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 16. movesnmunchies  |  03/03/2011 at 8:25 am

    im not a meat eater ahah (vegan here! ) but my whole fam is πŸ˜€
    ahhh LOVE your oatmeal.. liek for real nanners ROCK!!!

    Reply
  • 17. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries  |  03/03/2011 at 8:40 am

    People who don’t like oatmeal are just plain crazy if you ask me πŸ˜‰ That workout sounds killer! You’re a weight lifting machine!

    Reply
    • 18. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 4:31 pm

      Haha thanks πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 19. Sarah  |  03/03/2011 at 8:49 am

    Yum! Your chocolate/banana oatmeal is making me drool πŸ˜‰ Green peppers are also a fav!

    Reply
  • 20. leashieloo  |  03/03/2011 at 10:58 am

    I don’t eat meat on a regular basis, but every now an again my body cries out for it!

    Reply
  • 21. Cara @ ChicMeetsHealthy  |  03/03/2011 at 1:27 pm

    We cut red meat out of our diet so I would recommend chicken for some good stirfry!

    Reply
  • 22. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  03/03/2011 at 1:46 pm

    You could try flank steak!
    once again i am extremely jealous of your breakfast – i dont think it will ever get old to me.

    Reply
    • 23. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 4:31 pm

      O0o I use to have flank all the time, it was amazing πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 24. simplynutritiouskate  |  03/03/2011 at 2:38 pm

    I dont usually eat meat occasional fish or eggs but im trying to get away from all animal products. Love your breakfasts come make them for me πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 25. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 4:31 pm

      Haha come to Miami!! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 26. Mel  |  03/03/2011 at 3:21 pm

    WOW! The graham cracker + chocolate + banana oat combo is fo real making me drool! Dessert breakfast is what I dream of too.

    I only eat meat about once a week and usually don’t prepare it myself. does it taste weird to incorporate it back into your diet after a year off?

    Reply
    • 27. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 4:34 pm

      It was more emotionally weird than actually eating it but the meat wasn’t great so I didn’t enjoy it lol

      Reply
  • 28. Shanna, like Banana  |  03/03/2011 at 4:11 pm

    I stopped eating meat for 14 years! I’ve been eating it again for the last 6 or so, but I often forget.

    One meat I never thought I’d eat is pork tenderloin, but it’s delicious!

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  03/03/2011 at 4:35 pm

      Pork is a soft meat, I should definitely try to to incorporate it πŸ˜€

      Reply
  • 30. Olivia  |  03/03/2011 at 5:04 pm

    Totally know how you feel about the meat; every time I try to eat it now it just has this disturbing texture and I definitely don’t enjoy it much.. ): I’d say go for filet mignon though, gotta live it up right!? Wow 20 lbs per arm is great, I can do like…10 maxxx. haha those oats look bomb.!

    Reply
  • 31. Angie @ The Fitness Apple  |  03/03/2011 at 5:08 pm

    I actually haven’t touched meet in over 2 months now! it really helped me loss weight and feel better!

    Reply
  • 32. Tara  |  03/03/2011 at 5:09 pm

    You are so strong!!! I wouldn’t want to get on your bad side, haha. I’m totally drooling over your oats… breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so it’s always gotta be good like that!

    I don’t eat meat. I just don’t like it that much and it’s not good for the environment. The substitutes aren’t that bad if I really want something meaty. I’m not strict about rennet, gelatin, and other animal products though.

    Reply
  • 33. whatkateiscooking  |  03/03/2011 at 6:15 pm

    Anyone that says they don’t like oats have obviously never tried them the way you eat them! Who wouldn’t like that breakfast?!

    Reply
  • 34. Erika  |  03/03/2011 at 6:16 pm

    I’m a meat eater and proud of it! Meat is what works for me and my body so it stays. My favorite meats are chicken and pork, but steak is always a nice treat.

    Reply
  • 35. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition  |  03/03/2011 at 6:20 pm

    My mouth actually watered! No joke!!

    Reply
  • 36. Christine  |  03/03/2011 at 6:32 pm

    I’ve been pescatarian for 12 years. I sometimes cut fish out of my diet too.

    Chicken looks totally unappealing to me, but red meat sometimes looks okay, but I don’t really want it. Maybe if I were in a fancy steakhouse with top quality meat I might get some, but not now.

    Reply
  • 37. This Italian Family  |  03/03/2011 at 7:40 pm

    Welcome back to meat-eating. πŸ™‚ Sorry that your first experience back wasn’t a great one, but hopefully the next one will be better!

    Reply
  • 38. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin  |  03/03/2011 at 9:41 pm

    I love having dessert for breakfast everyday too. πŸ˜€

    Hmm for the beef I would recommend either a striploin, sirloin or tenderloin. They’re all really tender and delicious!

    Reply
  • 39. Katie  |  03/04/2011 at 10:39 am

    I cant live without my oats!!!!

    I dont eat red meat, just chicken and lots of fish! xoxo

    Reply
  • 40. Casey  |  03/04/2011 at 1:10 pm

    I only eat meat a few times a year (when I buy it from the farm- its a trek!)

    Btw, I’m starting to get super envious of those chocolate morsels always making appearances in your oats.

    Reply
  • 41. glidingcalm  |  03/04/2011 at 2:58 pm

    I love meat!! I made flank steak with my boy last night, and I hadn’t had beef in forever (since I like to only rarely eat it), but boy did it hit the spot!!!

    Maybe marinate it??

    Reply
  • 42. chrysta  |  03/04/2011 at 3:52 pm

    I actually dont mind meat. I could take it or leave it. If its available I’ll eat it..but I mainly just like beans better. I think just because its what I grew uo wating. So Im not much help in that department! Great job on the workout though!!! Keep rockin!

    Reply
  • 43. paoang  |  03/04/2011 at 4:47 pm

    GREAT workout!!!! And I love your chocolate banana oats…I can’t understand why, or HOW some people dislike oats either! :O

    I don’t really eat red meat, just chicken and fish! But that dish looks tasty πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 44. Gina  |  03/04/2011 at 10:02 pm

    Hahahaha! That Family Guy picture made my day πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 45. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel  |  03/04/2011 at 11:12 pm

    YES! I AM SOOO DROOLING! i can just taste the graham crackers! ok i really need to pick up some graham crackers at the grocery store tomorrow, and well im at it, more chocolate too!! YUM! ❀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


