Lazy Girl Oats

02/09/2011 at 11:24 am 32 comments

Finally humpday! Hope everyone is starting off the morning right. Yesterday was an early day for me. First day of mini term classes. I’m taking Human Growth & Development at 6am. Yes, at 6am. That means I have to wake up at 5 and drive to class while it’s pitch dark outside. Not fun at all. As soon as I came home at 7:30 I went right back to sleep and woke up at a more decent time, 9am 🙂

At this point I was really hungry and couldn’t wait for stove top oats. Yes I’m getting lazy and using the microwave, oh well. Either way, I have no complaints about these oats.

Basic serving of oats, 1 cup of water, 1/2 banana, vanilla extract, cinnamon, flax, chopped walnuts, Kashi, and dark chocolate peanut butter. Just what I needed after what seemed like a dragging long class.

My stomach has been feeling just ok these last few days. Cutting out sorbitol has helped out a little but not so much. Yesterday I ate out because I was starving and couldn’t wait to get home. Pretty bad mistake, I was bloated all night.  When I eat foods that I make myself my stomach doesn’t take that bad of a beating.

Today was a weight training day and I got up early since I have things to do in the afternoon.

I started off with deadlifts. 145 lbs which were incredibly tiresome. I did 5 reps and I felt my body aching all around. I love compound exercises as opposed to isolated just because you really do feel all the muscles in your body working at the same time.

After my deadlifts I followed up with arnold presses, 20 lb dumbbells in each hand. I was shaking and glad I finished my 5 reps. Cable crunches were next, followed by leg lifts. Great for the abs 🙂

Yet again I could not wait to make breakfast. Another lazy girl oatmeal.

1/2 cup of oats, 1 cup water, vanilla extract, cinnamon, chopped walnuts, flax, 1/2 banana, teddy grahams, chocolate chips, and an almond butter finish. Who says microwave oats aren’t equally delicious?

Very filling and warming 🙂

Well I’m off to shadow a Physician Assistant friend of mine who works at an Urgent Care Center. I’m pretty excited to see what he does and I’m all decked out in my scrubs 😀

This week has gone by in the blink of an eye. I can’t believe tomorrow is my birthday already 😮 Oh my 22, time flies!

Hope everyone has a great day!  What’s your fast go to breakfast?

Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Cereal, Chocolate, Fitness, Oatmeal. Tags: .

Not Another Manic Monday It’s My Birthday And I’ll Cry If I Want To

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sophia  |  02/09/2011 at 1:51 pm

    My go-to breakfast is a yogurt bowl, usually filled with honey and granola! Love it!! Happy early birthday! I hope you have a great day!

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you!

      Reply
  • 3. mealsformiles  |  02/09/2011 at 3:20 pm

    class at 6 a.m.? that is insane. my fav go-to breakfast is just cereal with almond milk and berries. never get sick of it!

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:06 pm

      I love cereal with berries 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. movesnmunchies  |  02/09/2011 at 4:09 pm

    I LOVE oats! yours aer so drool worthy- my go to breakki is ALWAYS oats!

    Reply
    • 6. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:07 pm

      It’s definitely the most awesome breakfast 😀

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  02/09/2011 at 4:33 pm

    My fast go-to breakfast is overnight oats. I take 5 minute to prep them the night before and then just grab and go in the morning. YUM!

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:07 pm

      I’ve become addicted to overnight oats

      Reply
  • 9. whatkateiscooking  |  02/09/2011 at 4:55 pm

    I didn’t eat until almost 9 last night, which was a mistake! I hate waking up feeling bloated, too.

    My go to fast breakfast is becoming overnight oats! They’re on the menu for tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Molly  |  02/09/2011 at 5:01 pm

    Overnight oats are definitely my fast go-to breakfast, but I try to never be in a hurry in the morning. Your bowls of oats looking extremely delish. When I eliminated malitol and sorbitol, I noticed a HUGE difference in my stomach/digestive problems. Does it feel like you are retaining water? Because I know weight lifting requires you to drink for water for muscle repair. Or else your muscles will cling on to all of it for dear life!

    Reply
    • 11. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:08 pm

      I do feel thirstier than before so I’m trying to increase my water drinking. I think the artificial sugars are killing my tummy

      Reply
  • 12. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel  |  02/09/2011 at 6:46 pm

    i want some of your lazy girl oats!!! i usually make something similar but with yogurt..and its usually my on-the-go fast-track meal many mornings.

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 13. Hannah (BitterSweet)  |  02/09/2011 at 7:57 pm

    Oats are also my go-to morning meal, I just can’t start the day without them (and a big cup of coffee, of course!)

    Reply
  • 14. Olivia  |  02/09/2011 at 8:21 pm

    Oh my goodness, those teddygrahmed chocolate pb oats look SOOO yummy! That’s by far my favorite ever oats combination…chocolate+peanut butter=pure bliss! 🙂 My stomach’s been feeling pretty off lately too, I know how you feel..it sucks! Hope yours gets better soon!

    Reply
    • 15. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:29 pm

      Aw thanks you too 😀

      Reply
  • 16. Kristie  |  02/09/2011 at 8:32 pm

    I’ve NEVER heard of classes being at 6am. That’s inhumane! I don’t know how you do it, I’d probably never go to that class, and I’m NOT a class skipper! Yikes.

    Fast breakfasts are usually packs of instant oats with pb or a quick bowl of cereal/yogurt/banana, inhaled if it has to be REALLY fast.

    Reply
  • 17. Ellie  |  02/09/2011 at 8:52 pm

    OoOoo I’m taking Human G&D as well!!! I loooove that class, esp. b/c of how the professor teaches it. : ))) how do you like it? haaha aside from the 6am issue?

    Reply
    • 18. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 8:56 pm

      Well it’s only been day 1 but idk it just seems kinda slow which is good but at 6am I just wanna sleep! 😛

      Reply
  • 19. BrittFit  |  02/09/2011 at 9:21 pm

    my fast go to breakfast is a protein bar…BUT I LIKE YOURS WAYYY BETTER! haha

    Reply
  • 20. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  02/09/2011 at 10:17 pm

    My go to breakfast is Oatmeal too…in the microwave! But don’t tell anyone 🙂 hehe

    Happy early birthday pretty girl!

    Reply
    • 21. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 10:48 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      Reply
  • 22. Laury @thefitnessdish  |  02/09/2011 at 10:38 pm

    Again, your strength amazes me!!!

    My fast go-to breakfast is Barbara Bakery cereal or arrowhead mills. I prefer oatmeal…but if I am REALLY in a rush, it’s cereal and amazing grass 🙂

    Reply
    • 23. Jenny  |  02/09/2011 at 10:49 pm

      Never had amazing grass. Interesting

      Reply
  • 24. Kate  |  02/10/2011 at 8:02 am

    oy! 6 am class! i am alll for getting up early but i don’t think i could sit and learn at that time in the morning. ish!

    smoothies are my ultimate fast breakfast. you can prep them in the blender the night before, store it in the frige overnight and blend in the morning.

    Reply
    • 25. Jenny  |  02/10/2011 at 11:05 am

      It’s really hard to pay attention lol

      Reply
  • 26. IHeartVegetables  |  02/10/2011 at 10:14 am

    I love making smoothies and stuff for breakfast. Those are pretty simple, but I like to eat them with a spoon… so they’re not that fastest breakfast! haha. If I’m pressed for time, I’ll pop a Kashi waffle in the toaster, and eat it with some apple slices and pb 🙂

    Reply
    • 27. Jenny  |  02/10/2011 at 11:05 am

      Those must be some super thick smoothies! Yummm

      Reply
  • 28. Leanne  |  02/10/2011 at 11:36 am

    My Fast go to Brekkie = Hmmm, if I’m in a big rush, I usually pack some grapes and a few crackers for class. Not a sufficient breakfast at all, but I always make sure to get some delicious carbs in after class 😉

    And erm, 6am classes!!?!?!?!? WTF….! I thought my 830 classes were bad :X poor you!!

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  02/10/2011 at 3:24 pm

      Yes it’s horrible!! 😦

      Reply
  • 30. april  |  02/10/2011 at 3:22 pm

    Awesome deadlifts girlie!!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 31. Jenny  |  02/10/2011 at 3:23 pm

      Thank you 😀

      Reply
  • 32. kissmybroccoli  |  02/12/2011 at 6:55 pm

    Wow, a 6am class? Girl, you are a brave soul! I’d end up passing out in the middle of class!

    I try to plan ahead and make overnight oats when I know I need something quick in the am, but if I’m ever caught without a plan I always resort to cold cereal and fresh fruit with almond milk and nut butter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


