Ikea Sunday

01/23/2011 at 9:31 pm 14 comments

Yay, it’s finally sunny and chilly in this beautiful city!! (well not chilly for most of you, but 60’s for me is)

BEAUtifulll

I really love waking up to mornings like these, just puts me in a great mood to be outdoors. My boyfriend picked me up early to do some shopping at Ikea and I was excited because I needed some new oatmeal bowls πŸ™‚

I was looking forward to my overnights oats for breakfast. I haven’t made these in a while because they never seem to come out so great. The one’s I made last night on the other hand were fantastic! I added Fage (that made it) along with a banana and left it overnight. It was a lot of goodness when I got to it in the morning. Not oats in a jar but oats in a mug πŸ™‚

Yummooo

After breakfast I was ready for a long shopping day. Ikea is just one of those places where you seem to be there for a long time, especially when just browsing around since there is so much to see!

Hand in hand on our way πŸ™‚ Love him. As anticipated we were there for quite some time but I found some bowls to use so I am super excited to use them tomorrow morning πŸ˜€

After some serious shopping we had to stop by the grocery store to buy some food to make for lunch and by this time I was one starving chick.

Luckily lunch was quick and easy

Chicken with sweet potatoes and couscous

A little sriracha to ignite the palate. Some bites were followed by large gulps of water!! Totally worth it though, it was delish.

Dinner was also another winner and it was my little idea.

Bean burrito

Yummy with cheese inside and outside topped with some salsa!! We used canned refried beans and just baked it, until the cheese melted and the beans were warm. Definitely hit the spot.

If only everyday could look like this:

Hopefully tomorrow will be another gorgeous day, too bad it’s Monday!! 😦

Oh and I was able to find a Principles of Nutrition class to take for a mini term at a local college. It starts Feb 12 until April but it’s on Saturdays. I was pretty excited to find it since I have to take Ogo II as a pre req and would rather not be involved in any other classes at that point. Unfortunately the book for my nutrition class is $130!!! Ahhh how crazy lol I usually have pretty good luck finding used books for much cheaper but I cannot find this one anywhere 😦 Not really sure if I should buy it or rent it but since it is a basic level nutrition class I might need it for referencing later on. Decisions, decisions, decisions!

Entry filed under: Banana, Beans, Breakfast, Cereal, Chicken, Dinner, Lunch, Oatmeal, Yogurt. Tags: , , , .

Lazy Saturday Happy National PB Day!!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. movesnmunchies  |  01/24/2011 at 2:59 am

    i LOVE IKEA!! yummy burrito girilie!

    Reply
  • 2. Kristina @ Life as Kristina  |  01/24/2011 at 9:20 am

    I want that burrito…60’s??? Places are closed around me today bc the windchill factor! I love holding hands in the car-it’s a habit of ours too:)

    Reply
    • 3. Jenny  |  01/24/2011 at 10:42 am

      Eek I’m horrible in cold weather! But then again I complain when it’s too hot and humid lol πŸ˜›

      Reply
  • 4. blissfulhope  |  01/24/2011 at 10:48 am

    Oo I never made couscous! I hear it’s similar to quinoa though. Your lunch looks sooo good with it!

    Andddd I would DIE for some weather in the 60’s. I woke up here (in Philly) to below zero temps, not fun at all :/

    Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  01/24/2011 at 11:05 am

    I just tried couscous the other day for the first time and it really is a lot of quinoa. You’d love it πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. simplynutritiouskate  |  01/24/2011 at 12:27 pm

    I LOVE ikea everytime I go its a four hour trip! cant wait to see your bowls πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  01/24/2011 at 1:44 pm

    60! I would have my windows down if it was 60!! haha

    I’ll have to try that overnight oats…my first one was a failure!

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  01/24/2011 at 4:49 pm

      Many of mine were too lol

      Reply
  • 9. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  01/24/2011 at 5:32 pm

    It’s been beautiful here, too! Except it’s suppose to rain all night and tomorrow..boo. :/ You and your boy are so cute holding hands the whole way! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 10. Jenny  |  01/24/2011 at 11:13 pm

      It wasn’t so pretty today 😦 kinda cloudy and it’s suppose to rain this week too.

      Reply
  • 11. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  01/24/2011 at 11:04 pm

    I’d kill for this weather right now haha! Love the palm tree picture!

    Reply
    • 12. Jenny  |  01/24/2011 at 11:12 pm

      I secretly took it while my bf was putting gas haha

      Reply
  • 13. This Italian Family  |  01/25/2011 at 9:20 am

    Awww love that hand-in-hand shot! So sweet! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 14. Jenny  |  01/25/2011 at 10:54 am

      Haha thanks πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


