Rain rain go away!

01/21/2011 at 4:19 pm 6 comments

Sun where are you?! I have woken up to a sunless sky which is unacceptable for a Friday! I was able to sleep in a bit more this morning since my piano class was canceled so I was not complaining. Breakfast would be oats once again. I am seriously addicted and ever since converting from the microwave to the stove they are just so much tastier. I am a true believer in stove top oats (don’t get me wrong I will use microwave when rushed).

Today was going to be a pretty basic mix but I decided to throw in some cottage cheese because tonight I’m going out with the girls to RA for sushi and I need all the protein I can get.

Bowl of oats

Threw in some peanuts and kashi for crunch. Almond butter is a must for oatmeal and the chocolate is Walden Farms chocolate dip. ZERO calories. Oh how I love their syrups and dips! I’ve found them only once at Publix so your best bet is to order online but they get you with the shipping 😦

Today’s workout was well a workout 😉

Started off with some leg presses, hit my max at 210 woohooo. Step ups were a challenge. It use to be so easy when I started doing them with 5 lb dumbbells but now with 20’s oh man it’ll make you sweat. My new workout routine has me doing push ups to build upper body strength and from the girl who would fall on her face in 10th grade P.E class, I can now do 10 pretty successful. I know most of you can dish out like 20 no problem but my arms are tiny! lol I’m trying 😛

Everything else was pretty routine: lat pulldowns, wood choppers (love these), hyperextensions, and leg lifts.

My Friday workout is my longest and I really don’t like to waste time chatting it up because every minute counts. I think it’s great to make friends at the gym and maybe it’s just me, but does it annoy anyone else when random people start talking to you about nonsense when you just want to concentrate on your lifts? I’m trying to give it all I’ve got and work up a sweet and here is this man blabbing on and on and on. On top of it, I was so hungry! Obviously I can’t say to go away but that’s what my inside voice was saying!!

Finally arriving home soaked like a wet chicken from all the rain I was ready for lunch! Luckily I had leftover quinoa from yesterday so no cooking required.

Spruced up the quinoa with some garlic salt, cumin, and curry. Chopped up a tomato, added some parsley, and some feta cheese. It was scrumptious! Probably should have had some more protein pwo, but I didn’t feel like making anything and needed to be fed quickly!

Can’t wait for some yummy sushi tonight 😀

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Cereal, Lunch, Oatmeal, Quinoa. Tags: , , .

Peanut butter jelly time Lazy Saturday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  01/21/2011 at 6:21 pm

    LOVE Ra Sushi! Make sure you get the Viva Las Vegas and of course the Fried Ice Cream 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny  |  01/21/2011 at 6:24 pm

    I’ve never been! I’m excited! 😀

    Reply
  • 3. Sweet Cheeks  |  01/21/2011 at 9:51 pm

    I like to concentrate on my workouts too when I’m at the gym. My gym time is my “ME” time!

    Have fun at the sushi place!! Wish I was going..it’s been far too long for me and sushi. 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  01/22/2011 at 3:36 pm

      It was so yummy! You need to get some Sushi asap!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. movesnmunchies  |  01/22/2011 at 2:52 am

    oo lucky you with sushi!!!.. and working out for me is very concentrated as well… i focus on myself and get ‘er done!

    Reply
  • 6. Erika  |  01/22/2011 at 10:18 am

    That quinoa looks delicious! I need to pick some up at the store soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


