All in the legs

01/19/2011 at 8:21 pm 14 comments

I was pretty psyched about today because it’s a deadlifting day!!  My greatest deadlifting moment was when I picked up the bar off the floor with 45 lbs on each side, which meant 135 lbs total. Since I weigh 115 it meant lifting more than my body weight which made me super happy. The goal for today was to complete 5 reps. Last week I did 4 but when I finished I noticed a pretty strong lower back pain. My boyfriend warned me that there shouldn’t be any back pain, and instead of doing them incorrectly he wanted to see me do them.

Let’s just say today was a whole different ball park!   My warm up sets were good, but then when it came time for my heaviest set oh dear god I thought I wasn’t going to be able to do it. Best tip for deadlifting: Abs tight, chest up, and never use your back to pick up the weight. Use your legs!!

-Words of advice from the bf 😉

I only did 3 sets but my back was pain free. I was actually pretty disappointed because I wanted to finish, I hate feeling like a quitter. Hopefully next week will be better. My overhead press was em decent but form is getting sloppy. Might need to switch to something else before I hurt myself. Overall today’s workout was 5/10. Not impressed.

PWO (post workout) on the other hand was delicious down to the last bite!

Rice, beans, and chicken!

Then it was time to play with the new ice cream maker. My boyfriend just got it today so we were excited to make something scrumptious.

Rocky Road

 

Omg it was just like ice cream and my serving was only 134 calories!! Not too shabby I must say 😉

I actually went to visit a University today after lunch to get my transcript looked at and see if I was missing any prerequisites to get into the M.S Nutrition & Dietitian program. Turns out I’m missing Principles of Nutrition and Organic Chemistry II. Ugh what?!! Nooooooooo Needless to say I was pretty upset. I didn’t take Orgo II in undergrad for a reason!! Blehhh. But I have no choice but to suck it up and take those 2 classes in the Summer so that I can be admitted in the Fall. Gotta admit I was pretty excited even though it’s a bit deviated from the pathway I initially planned. Still looking into the PA-C program, I refuse to give up. I will keep trucking until my name has an RD/PA-C behind it!!

 

 

Entry filed under: Beans, Chicken, Fitness, Life, Lunch, Rice. Tags: , , , .

Waffle kinda morning Peanut butter jelly time

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. doctapeppa  |  01/19/2011 at 8:50 pm

    What do you mean it was “just like ice cream”? That IS ice cream!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny  |  01/19/2011 at 8:51 pm

    It was delish!!! Next one will be oreos!

    Reply
  • 3. katiivey  |  01/20/2011 at 9:55 am

    Good job on the deadlifts! Those ARE hard; you definitely feel them the next day! And I’m jealous of your educational pursuits :> I majored in Exercise Sports Science but if I had it to do over again, I’d go the registered dietician route!

    Love the quote at the end~

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  01/20/2011 at 6:45 pm

      Thanks!! Hopefully it’ll all workout 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. itisallaboutbalance  |  01/20/2011 at 4:07 pm

    My bf always schools me when I try to do anything but the tredmill. Usually he is right but I still always try by myself first lol. Is that salsa with your rice?? If so looks delish! Anything with salsa is better! And honestly, you are so close that it’s ridic! It will be over so soon! 🙂 xoxo

    Reply
    • 6. Jenny  |  01/20/2011 at 6:47 pm

      Lol yes I love putting salsa on everything. It was suppose to be an all Cuban dish but I couldn’t help myself 😛

      Reply
  • 7. Sweet Cheeks  |  01/20/2011 at 4:10 pm

    Sorry about the news on your classes. at least you found out now instead of later and are able to take them this summer. Good luck, I’m sure you’ll do great!

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  01/20/2011 at 6:48 pm

      Orgo II in 6 weeks is definitely going to be interesting lol

      Reply
  • 9. blissfulhope  |  01/22/2011 at 8:11 pm

    I actually considered applying to become a RD but I didn’t have all the prereqs so I did the PA route. The program I am going to attend starts in June though. Let me know which you decide to do!!

    Reply
    • 10. Jenny  |  01/22/2011 at 8:25 pm

      Jesus you’re like my twin!! lol As of now I want both. Am I being crazy? I love food, and educating people on nutrition is my passion but I love medicine too and P.A is a growing field with a lot of opportunity. You need to keep me updated! 🙂

      Reply
      • 11. blissfulhope  |  01/22/2011 at 8:31 pm

        Ahhh I know when I read your story I was like wow this is my life haha. Other than the prereq thing, I decided to go to PA school because I talked to some people and nutrition is one of the many areas PA’s can work in, so I figured it’s the best of both worlds — medicine and nutrition! And then if I want to switch it up, I can always work in other specialties.. we’ll see what happens lol.

  • 12. Jenny  |  01/22/2011 at 8:35 pm

    I applied to P.A school and I didn’t get in 😦 Story of my life lol. My grades were great but I didn’t have enough patient care experience since I wasn’t certified in anything. It’s funny how you plan out your whole life and one thing can totally throw you for a loop. My ultimate goal pretty much is P.A but I figure with RD I can get patient care experience instead of doing EMT or LPN which takes 2 years anyways.

    Reply
  • 13. blissfulhope  |  01/22/2011 at 8:39 pm

    Yeaaa I know the feeling! I actually did a 5 week program of night classes to become a CNA (certified nursing assistant, fyi I know the Red Cross runs a program too). It was a little tedious being I am in grad school right now but I definitely think it helped with the patient care aspect — that and I tried to do lots of shadowing in various fields. It’s not easy to apply to schools anymore booo. I’m sure you will succeed regardless though!! Whatever is meant to be will happen 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Jenny  |  01/22/2011 at 8:56 pm

      That’s the mentally I’m trying to have. I can’t freak about the things that didn’t happen. I’ve been miss anxiety and it’s completely not healthy. For now just trying to hold my head high and get a degree 🙂 Congrats on getting in! It’s really competitive out there

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 100 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


