Weekend Wedding

04/09/2011 at 5:58 pm 73 comments

After last weekends bachelorette party I had a wedding to look forward to this weekend! I was super excited to attend the wedding of one of my close friends, but not so happy about having to wake up at 7am to go to school the next day :( Either way I partied my dancing legs off!

It was a gorgeous wedding and it was all so surreal to see her getting married. I know they are going to be very happy together. The amaretto cake was delicious! Too bad I didn’t get a picture :(

The next morning I had a quick breakfast before I left

Peanut Butter and Jelly oats

Topped with

  • Peanuts
  • Apricot Jam
  • Cinnamon Raisin PB

Very simple, yet very yummy :D

 

 

 

Great way to start off the day :D

On a different note, I love all the feedback I received on my post pertaining to the HCG diet. It’s great that most of you are already aware of the dangers of this diet. My best friend informed me today that she was going on this very serious diet. As a friend, I told her what I thought about it but left it at that. I have no right to impose my ideas on her and I can only hope that she will be wise about her health. It literally pains my heart to be in such a vulnerable position.

  • Have you ever dealt with a similar situation? Any advice?

 

Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Life, Oatmeal. Tags: , , , , .

How Far Would You Go? Changes In My Life

73 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BrittFit  |  04/09/2011 at 6:19 pm

    I have never dealt this a situation like this before but I think being honest with your friend would be the best idea. BTW you look hot in that dress ;)

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 5:58 pm

      Yay thanks blogger bff :D

      Reply
  • 3. Ellie  |  04/09/2011 at 6:50 pm

    wowwww you look gorgeous Jenny! pretty dress :D I think that what you’re doing with your friend is the best idea. coming off as “nagging” will only make her stick to it more or hide it. However, gently telling her that you care for her and reminding her why it’s bad (perhaps even stories of real life events?) and leaving it at that would be best IMO. We can tell others something as much as we want, but they have to have the sobriety and willingness to listen or act upon the advice. this goes for anything in life! hang in there!

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 5:59 pm

      Thank you Ellie, I always look forward to your words of advice :)

      Reply
  • 5. movesnmunchies  |  04/09/2011 at 7:01 pm

    girl you look GORG!!! oo that is such a tough one… ive never had a friend who did soemthing like that, but iv had friends who say they are going on a ‘diet’ and itjust makes me cringe. but its their choice and i dnt wnt to sound preachyy!

    Reply
  • 6. Cara @ Chic Meets Healthy  |  04/09/2011 at 7:03 pm

    ummm hi. i love your dress! tweet me where you got it ASAP! haha

    Reply
  • 8. Mandi  |  04/09/2011 at 7:12 pm

    That dress looks stunning on you!
    Sorry about that situation, I’ve actually never been through any thing like that. I would just try to be as supportive of as you can though (not of the diet, but of your friend). I hope everything turns out okay!

    Reply
    • 9. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:11 pm

      Thanks Mandi! :D

      Reply
  • 10. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries  |  04/09/2011 at 7:51 pm

    You are so gorgeous!! I absolutely love that dress. Where did you get it?!

    Reply
  • 12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen)  |  04/09/2011 at 8:09 pm

    You’re so beautiful girl!!! :D I love that dress!!

    That is a tough position. Whenever I see someone I care about making a not-so-heathy choice, I try to help them. It’s really hard though because I feel like I can’t just let it go by, yet I also feel like it’s not really my place to try to tell other how to live. I guess all you can do is present your view and prey she makes the right choice. I really, really hope it all works out!!
    <3

    Reply
    • 13. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:12 pm

      thanks girl :D

      Reply
  • 14. Hollie @lolzthatswim(andrun)  |  04/09/2011 at 8:22 pm

    You look gorgeous girl. I absolutely love that dress, lets be twinnies and wear patterned dresses together.

    I have been in situations like that before and I have given up trying to help my friends honestly. I would rather still be close with them then force them going to the gym with me or eat healthier or not binge drink from Wens-Sunday every weekend.

    Reply
    • 15. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:13 pm

      Yesss let’s be twinnies! You make the pancakes :D

      Reply
  • 16. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots  |  04/09/2011 at 8:23 pm

    um, your dress is gorgeous and you are beautiful! just sayin :)

    I haven’t been in that position in particular but I’ve seen so many friends go on diets that they didn’t need to be on… which always pains me to watch, even though it’s not so extremely unhealthy… sigh.

    Reply
    • 17. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:13 pm

      Thanks Nicole! :) It is painful to watch :(

      Reply
  • 18. Peanut Butter Bandit  |  04/09/2011 at 8:56 pm

    This looks amazing! Definitely going on my list of things to try… :)

    Reply
  • 19. Kate (What Kate is Cooking)  |  04/09/2011 at 9:53 pm

    I LOVE your dress! You look beautiful!

    One of my friends used to always declare that she was going to ‘stop eating’ when we were in high school. I know she was doing it for shock value, so I gave her some tough love and basically told her she was an idiot for even joking about something like that :)

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:14 pm

      I would never say I was going to stop eating lol

      Reply
  • 21. Christina  |  04/09/2011 at 10:19 pm

    I love going to weddings! Sounds like you had a great time! :)

    Reply
  • 22. Sweet Cheeks  |  04/09/2011 at 10:22 pm

    WOW! What a beautiful dress. you are working it girl!

    good luck with your friend situation. I would definitely make my opinion know that I’m against it and make sure she knows that you’re just worried about her and don’t want her to put her health in danger.

    Reply
  • 23. simplynutritiouskate  |  04/09/2011 at 10:25 pm

    You look so pretty I LOVE your dress especially the open back :) Thanks for sending your sunshine my way it totally worked!

    Reply
    • 24. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:14 pm

      Anytime! ;)

      Reply
  • 25. moveovercelery  |  04/09/2011 at 10:30 pm

    Oh my goodness! You look gorgeous! Way to show off that back! ;)

    As always, your oats look super tasty.

    Reply
  • 26. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  04/09/2011 at 10:34 pm

    love your dress, and your oats – as usual!
    encourage your friend to start working out with you and making healthy meals together!

    Reply
  • 27. applesnoats  |  04/09/2011 at 11:18 pm

    you look super gorgeous!
    thats a tough situation to be in :( I hope everything works out …wish I could help with advice but iv never had to deal with that!

    Reply
  • 28. Ari@ThE DiVa DiSh  |  04/10/2011 at 1:04 am

    You look super beautiful!! Glad u had a good time!

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:15 pm

      Thank you Ari :D

      Reply
  • 30. kbwood  |  04/10/2011 at 1:37 am

    WOWWWW you look soooo gorgeous!!!! oh my gosh- love that dress soo much!

    Reply
  • 31. Maryann (The Balanced Bean)  |  04/10/2011 at 1:38 am

    Wow I just read your other post about the HCG diet, crazy! I had never heard of it before. I have never been in a situation like that…and its hard to figure out the right way going about it. (sorry I wasnt much help)

    Gorgeous dress!

    Reply
    • 32. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:15 pm

      Thank you :)

      Reply
  • 33. Tara  |  04/10/2011 at 1:40 am

    You look gorgeous in that dress! I love weddings, though it’s been a really long time since I’ve gone to one.
    Good luck with that situation! I’ve never had that kind of experience, but I’d be really scared for my friend!

    Reply
    • 34. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:16 pm

      It had a been awhile for me too! lol

      Reply
  • 35. J3nn (Jenn's Menu and Lifestyle Blog)  |  04/10/2011 at 4:24 am

    That dress is GORGEOUS! You look lovely. :)

    Reply
  • 36. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin  |  04/10/2011 at 8:20 am

    Wow you look amazing in that dress! The colours are gorgeous!

    That’s such a tough call, but I think you’re doing the right thing with your friend. Hopefully she’ll come to her senses and stop that diet!

    Reply
    • 37. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 11:28 pm

      I hope so :)

      Reply
  • 38. Hannah (BitterSweet)  |  04/10/2011 at 10:00 am

    That dress if gorgeous- And you’re seriously rocking it! Consider me green with envy.

    Reply
    • 39. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 11:28 pm

      Thanks, you’re so sweet :)

      Reply
  • 40. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life  |  04/10/2011 at 10:59 am

    You look beautiful!!! I love that dress!

    Reply
  • 41. Laury @thefitnessdish  |  04/10/2011 at 11:02 am

    You look AMAZING!! LOVE your dress!!

    I deal with situations like that all the time. The best thing you can do it let her know the dangers, but also let her make her own mistakes. Hopefully she makes the right choice and stays away from that diet. You can only control your own actions though. When I realized this it made things less stressful for me when I got frustrated with people not taking my advice

    Reply
    • 42. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:17 pm

      Omg yes people never take my advice lol boo :( I just need to live with it and let people do their own thing. Thanks Laury :D

      Reply
  • 43. Katherine: Unemployed  |  04/10/2011 at 12:00 pm

    I love your wedding attire! that dress is gorgeous! good luck with your friend (that is a tough situation to be in)

    Reply
  • 44. Parita @ myinnershakti  |  04/10/2011 at 1:07 pm

    You look beautiful!!! And you two are such a cute couple!!! And I think all you can do is be there for her and keep telling her what you think…there are times when we shouldn’t impose our views on our friends and there are times when it’s absolutely needed. In my personal opinion, this is a time when you need to butt in. I know it’s hard, but you’re such a great role model so if she listens to anyone, it’ll be you!

    Reply
    • 45. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:17 pm

      Aww thanks you Parita, I love your comments :D

      Reply
  • 46. pawsitivelife  |  04/10/2011 at 4:30 pm

    First of all I am in love with your dress and will make it my mission to find one in similar colours but not as long bc Im sure it will not suit super short people like me. Second, Any obsessive diet is not a good idea. Sure you may loose wieght fast but no one thinks of longer term consequences

    Reply
  • 47. Lara @ six times the yum  |  04/10/2011 at 5:21 pm

    Hey! Thanks for commenting on my blog. It means a lot to me! I love your dress, by the way! It screams summer and Hawaii! (Your breakfast kinda screams tropics too with the apricot jam, haha.)

    Reply
    • 48. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 6:18 pm

      Thank you for seeing mine :)

      Reply
  • 49. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  04/10/2011 at 5:21 pm

    Love the dress! Glad you had a great time, too!
    As for your friend, yes..”imposing” your thoughts may make her defensive towards you depending on her personality..but it’s important you share them with her. Whether or not she gets upset at first, it’ll sink in eventually and hopefully stop her from crash dieting.

    Reply
  • 50. glidingcalm  |  04/10/2011 at 5:46 pm

    gorgeous dress!

    Reply
  • 51. Shanna, like Banana  |  04/10/2011 at 5:49 pm

    I had an anorexic friend that I confronted. And I knew deep down that nothing I could do would change her mind. It had to come within and she just needed to know I was there. Luckily, she’s awesomely healthy today =)

    Reply
  • 52. megan @ the oatmeal diaries  |  04/10/2011 at 5:53 pm

    Great dress!
    I’ve actually never heard of that diet, but I think it was right of you to express your concern for your friend. Maybe she’ll come around to your point of view!

    Reply
  • 53. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope  |  04/10/2011 at 7:20 pm

    Sounds like a great wedding and you look GORGEOUS in that dress. Seriously, the colors are perfect on you! And I’m definitely loving the Peanut Butter and Jelly oats. YUM!

    Reply
    • 54. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 11:28 pm

      The oats were AMAZING :D

      Reply
  • 55. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons  |  04/10/2011 at 8:39 pm

    You look fantastic girl!!! =)

    Reply
  • 56. Amanda  |  04/10/2011 at 8:42 pm

    Love the dress! :) And those oats look SO good! I need to try jam on mine! It sounds delicious!

    Reply
    • 57. Jenny  |  04/10/2011 at 11:29 pm

      The jam is amazing :)

      Reply
  • 58. Alexa @ SimpleEats  |  04/10/2011 at 9:00 pm

    You look gorgeous! Love the dress!

    Reply
  • 59. Kristina  |  04/10/2011 at 9:24 pm

    ohhhh I love that dress-the colors are awesome…and the cake-sound awesome!

    Reply
  • 60. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles  |  04/10/2011 at 9:36 pm

    LOVE your dress – so pretty!

    Reply
  • 61. Gina  |  04/10/2011 at 10:37 pm

    Gorgeous dress, girl!!

    That’s such a hard situation with your friend. If she doesn’t take your advice, I guess just being there to help guide her along the way to hopefully better eating habits once the diet is over =/

    Reply
    • 62. Jenny  |  04/11/2011 at 10:37 am

      I’ll try my best :)

      Reply
  • 63. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  04/10/2011 at 11:43 pm

    I absolutely love your dress!! It’s so colorful! I hope everything works out with you and your friend. I think it’s good that you gave her your opinions, girl!

    Reply
  • 64. Meri  |  04/11/2011 at 12:14 am

    I’ve never felt comfortable giving friends or even family members my input on their diet, amount of exercise, drinking, etc. Maybe I should grow a pair and speak up if I really care, but maybe I”ve never been in a position of real concern before.

    On a lighter note, the oats sound tasty! The PB and J combo never fails to please me!

    Reply
    • 65. Jenny  |  04/11/2011 at 10:38 am

      Lol I feel comfortable but no one listens to me :(

      Reply
  • 66. The Teenage Taste  |  04/11/2011 at 7:14 am

    Ohmygosh! Jenny you are so pretty! That dress looks great on you! Glad you had fun at the wedding!

    Hope all goes well with your friend. Maybe she’ll change her mind? You never know. Send her a link to your post! :-P

    Reply
    • 67. Jenny  |  04/11/2011 at 10:38 am

      Thank you :P

      Reply
  • 68. Lisa @ Healthy Diaries  |  04/11/2011 at 8:55 am

    Love the dress! That amaretto cake sounds so good! Wish I could have seen a picture. :)

    I think that’s great that you can be honest with your friend. I think that’s all you can really do. In the end, she’ll make her own decision.

    Reply
  • 69. Fit Chick Britt  |  04/11/2011 at 10:30 am

    You look beautiful! I would just be there for your friend and be hopen and honest. Just promote the healthy way you live and she might eventually catch on and start asking questions.

    Reply
  • 70. Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner)  |  04/11/2011 at 12:20 pm

    Girl you are SO GORGEOUS!! I LOVE your dress and you look so beautiful! :D

    That is so tough!! I’m sorry that you’re in that situation- that sucks! Hopefully she’ll see the light, but I would just be completely honest with her. Hope it works out okay!! :)

    Reply
    • 71. Jenny  |  04/11/2011 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks Em! Welcome back ;)

      Reply
  • 72. Christine @ Merf In Progress  |  04/11/2011 at 9:44 pm

    I’ve seen people do some really concerning and dangerous diets. Not to mention inhaling diet sodas full of poison one after the other. :(

    You look smokin’ hot in that dress.

    Reply
  • 73. This Italian Family  |  04/12/2011 at 9:15 am

    Aww such a pretty dress! Glad you had fun dancing at the wedding! :)

    I had only heard mentions of the HCG diet before reading your last post so I didn’t really know much about it. But as you said, it’s about lifestyle change. Without that, eventually the weight will come back after the injections/restricted diet ends. I really hope your friend changes her mind about doing it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 103 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

