Kitchen Calamity

02/12/2011 at 4:48 pm 32 comments

Saturday morning wake up call? 6am. Why? Class at 8am. I signed up for a Nutrition class that is only offered at this time and this day. It’s a mini term so luckily there are  only 9 classes. First day wasn’t so eventful, just the usual talk about the syllabus lasting an hour and then basic nutrition concepts. Let me remind you this isn’t the usual one hour class. Because it’s only once a week this class is 3 hours long!! Gasp! Yesss :o I don’t know how I’m going to be able to sit through this. I love nutrition but any class for 3 hours is bound to leave me day dreaming.

For breakfast I made some overnight oats the day before and they were delicious!!!

Oats, Fage, chocolate silk milk, whipped banana, topped with Kashi, blueberries, chocolate morsels, shortbread cookies, and cinnamon raisin PB. The overnight oats are really growing on me. I need to buy some chia seeds asap to fluff them up. Apparently they make a big difference in texture by soaking up a lot of the liquid.

Oats are always win anyway you make them :)

After class I was uber excited to finally see my boyfriend! He had to work for my birthday so I wasn’t able to see him :(

My birthday gift was more than perfect. He gave me 5 healthy cooking books!! Haha we’re such nerds :) For Valentines Day I gave him an ice cream recipe book and  scooper for his new ice cream machine. We are totally made for each other :P

Our lunch was equally fantastic

Quinoa with chicken, broccoli, and Ragu sauce.

Ok so if you were wondering about my blog title, this is what happened.

I was chopping up a green pepper and somehow the knife seemed to slip out from under me and cut my finger above my nail bed :(

Did it hurt? Yes

Did I cry? Yes

Did it bleed? Like crazy!!!

lol no band-aids were available so my bf improvised. It was a long time before it finally stopped bleeding :(

I mean seriously out of all days, today…My birthday celebration. How sexy of me going out to a club with a gauze on my finger ;)

Luckily all it takes to cheer me up is some ice cream :P

Strawberry Froyo in our ice cream maker with some 100 calorie pack oreos and whipped cream! Yummy. Now I feel a little better ;)

Have a fantastic Valentines weekend! Our weather just got wet and cold so no sunny days here. Booo

Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Cereal, Chicken, Lunch, Oatmeal, Quinoa. Tags: , , , , .

It’s My Birthday And I’ll Cry If I Want To Love Is In The Air

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly @ MollyRunsFresh  |  02/12/2011 at 4:55 pm

    Aww you and your boyfriend are so cute! Two foodies :)
    Sorry about your finger, I actually cut mine on a strawberry preserves jar yesterday. There was a sharp piece of glass around the rim of my Polaner preserves jar and it got me! Have a wonderful valentine’s day!

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 5:24 pm

      Thank you, you too :D

      Reply
  • 3. Sweet Cheeks  |  02/12/2011 at 5:01 pm

    We’re stuck with the snowy cold weather, too. I’m soooo ready for spring and summer! thank goodness they are right around the corner!

    Overnight oats are the bomb. Lately though I’ve been too cold in the morning to eat them so I’ve been sticking with my warm oats. Usually I live off overnight oats during the summer! Chia seeds really do make a great difference…I always add at least 1 tsp and they come out perfect.

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 5:24 pm

      I found some at a great price at Amazon, so pricey at whole foods!

      Reply
  • 5. april  |  02/12/2011 at 5:21 pm

    What do you use to make your froyo? I’ve tried and tried and mine always turns hard in the ice cream maker!

    Reply
    • 6. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 5:23 pm

      I use Fage Greek yogurt. Regular yogurt has more water so it’ll solidify more in the ice cream maker. I made it with 17 ounces of Fage, 1/2 cup of fat free milk, and 3/4 cup of splenda. Then just chopped in some strawberries and threw them in there :)

      Reply
  • 7. Angie @ The Fitness Apple  |  02/12/2011 at 6:04 pm

    100 calorie pack oreos exist?! :) I need to find these!

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 6:07 pm

      well ok to be honest they are not “real” oreos lol it’s like a thin chocolate wafer but still tasty ;)

      Reply
  • 9. BrittFit  |  02/12/2011 at 6:05 pm

    Ugh long classes are the worst. I bet the yummy breakfast got you through though ;)

    Reply
  • 10. kissmybroccoli  |  02/12/2011 at 6:45 pm

    Aww, love the foodie celebration! So sorry about your finger! Story of my life in my kitchen! I am so accident prone!

    Good luck in the nutrition class! When I was in college, I had to take an accelerated physics class…at night…for FOUR hours twice a week! I thought I was going to die!! I’m still not really sure how I survived with my brain intact!

    Reply
    • 11. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 8:52 pm

      Physics for 4 hours?! Wow now you are one serious bad ass

      Reply
  • 12. quirkyrunner  |  02/12/2011 at 6:46 pm

    hehee! my dad always calls me calamity!

    Reply
  • 13. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  02/12/2011 at 8:07 pm

    That’s so sweet that he got you cookbooks!! Sorry about your finger :( Have a great weekend though!

    Reply
    • 14. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 8:53 pm

      Thank you, you too!

      Reply
  • 15. Erika  |  02/12/2011 at 8:41 pm

    I’m so jealous of your homemade fro-yo! I want an ice cream maker so badly! :-)
    Happy Belated Birthday!

    Reply
    • 16. Jenny  |  02/12/2011 at 8:55 pm

      Thank you. it’s the Cuisinart ICE-21 love it!

      Reply
  • 17. movesnmunchies  |  02/13/2011 at 4:37 am

    OW OW im so sorry about your finger- ouch!!! ahh homemade froyo- that is awesome!

    Reply
  • 18. Kate  |  02/13/2011 at 8:52 am

    oy! 8 am class on a saturday! that is brutal. hope the rest of your weekend has been nice and that your finger is healing :)

    Reply
  • 19. paoang  |  02/13/2011 at 10:51 am

    Those overnight oats look sooo GOOD! I love overnight oats :)) And a 3 hour class?! THATS CRAZY!!!

    I’m sorry about your finger :( It must’ve hurt like a motherrrrr!!! But so glad you could spend time with ur boy!!!

    xx

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  02/13/2011 at 3:27 pm

      It’s still hurting :( lol have a great weekend!

      Reply
  • 21. Colleen  |  02/13/2011 at 1:01 pm

    Uh, class for 3 hours is so painful. I’m in one now that’s 4 hours and I dread it weekly :) That dinner you made looks so good! Did you use a recipe or did you just make it up as you went along?

    Reply
    • 22. Jenny  |  02/13/2011 at 3:29 pm

      Just went with it. It’s just chicken with Ragu sauce and broccoli poured over quinoa. Delicious

      Reply
  • 23. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  02/13/2011 at 2:01 pm

    Oh yeah, 8AM classes should NOT be 3 hours long..no matter how interesting the subject. Oh well though..hopefully you’ll learn a lot! :)

    Reply
  • 24. whatkateiscooking  |  02/13/2011 at 7:26 pm

    I LOVE overnight oats lately! Sorry that you cut your finger :( That’s happened to me more times than I care to admit!

    Reply
  • 25. Hannah  |  02/13/2011 at 8:22 pm

    Knife slips happen to everyone, don’t worry… I got a new knife today, and I was just -washing- it when I sliced the tip of my finger off!

    Reply
    • 26. Jenny  |  02/16/2011 at 5:33 pm

      Ouch!! Mine is still healing =/

      Reply
  • 27. TheNewHealthy  |  02/13/2011 at 11:40 pm

    Ah! At least you had ice cream to cheer you up! :)

    Reply
  • 28. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  02/13/2011 at 11:44 pm

    omg i hope your finger is better!
    That fro-yo looks amazing…do you make that in the food processor?

    Reply
    • 29. Jenny  |  02/14/2011 at 3:32 pm

      No in an actual ice cream maker! It’s by cuisinart :D

      Reply
  • 30. Ellie  |  02/14/2011 at 3:53 pm

    Hehe you guys are so cute. Wow! an icecream maker? mang….kitchen items are my weakness for sure…

    Reply
  • 31. Kristina  |  02/14/2011 at 5:40 pm

    I feel like i’m living in an igloo-spring please!!!! Hope your finger is feeling better-ouch!

    Reply
  • 32. Pharmb207  |  02/15/2011 at 12:37 pm

    Hello! acedbbg interesting acedbbg site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 103 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

