Bagel Battle

02/05/2011 at 10:29 pm 32 comments

Last night I decided that today for breakfast I’d toast up some bagels. I am a bagel lover and it’s pretty difficult to say no to a cinnamon raisin or blueberry bagel. Luckily I bought some that were 110 calories each! Yes, success :)

I didn’t take them out of the freezer last night thinking that it wouldn’t be a big deal. Wrong!! These bagels are not pre cut :( And you cannot cut through a frozen hard bagel (easily anyways). So I pretty much stuck the whole bagel in one of my toaster slots, and cut it when it was done. Pretty weird but it worked. You can’t have a bagel without topping so I added some fat free cream cheese with cinnamon to one, and some apricot jam to the over. It was win ;)

I couldn’t just have a bagel without oats so I made some some as well.

Ok to be honest it’s not exactly oatmeal, it’s a Quaker hot cereal that tastes exactly like it. I had a serving of the so called oats, with a splash of chocolate soy milk and blueberries, topped with peanuts and chocolate morsels. Another successful breakfast without breaking the calorie bank ;)

Me, before my boyfriend picked me up :) I hadn’t seen him in a week so I was uber excited!! :P

It was a lazy Saturday consisting of lots of studyingggg.

Such a hateful little book made to make my life miserable for the next few months. It’s really in depth and just one chapter will leave you mind boggled. I’m on chapter 2 :( Not a big accomplishment lol but I’m working on it!

Today’s lunch was….

Hmm.. Bean burrito? Chicken burrito? Maybe some meat or turkey?

Noppeee! It’s….

A black bean and sweet potato burrito!!

I love making these, they are so easy and so filling. Happy tummy :D

Today has been another bad stomach day. This whole week in fact has been dreadful. I’m taking probiotics and anti-spasm medications but the pain comes and goes whenever it wants. The bloating doesn’t go away so I might try some elimination diets to see what happens. I already tried dairy and I’m not intolerant so maybe I’ll go cold turkey on the sorbitol products or artificial sweeteners.

Have any of you had similar problems? Any advice? Thanks

Have a great weekend! :D

Entry filed under: Beans, Breakfast, Chocolate, Lunch, Oatmeal. Tags: , .

First February Friday Not Another Manic Monday

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly @ MollyRunsFresh  |  02/05/2011 at 10:54 pm

    Hey girl… I am 99.9% sure that your problems are being caused by the sorbitol. It causes HORRIBLE bloating for me when I eat it (like in sugar free syrups and candy). Good luck!

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  02/05/2011 at 11:28 pm

      I’m completely cutting it off for a week. I recently bought some and noticed that my stomach was acting up again.

      Reply
  • 3. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  02/06/2011 at 1:23 am

    I’m a huge bagel lover too!! Hope you start to feel better!!

    Reply
    • 4. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:49 pm

      Thank you, so far so good :)

      Reply
  • 5. Ellie  |  02/06/2011 at 3:06 am

    Oh i think I saw those bagels at the store! Jenny do you get pains like–indigestion as well? It might be that when your mind/body is stressed, your stomach takes the beating and reacts to it. I’m not exactly sure what you feel, but when I have bloating and don’t feel good, I drink Perrier with a lil lemon juice and it always helps and makes me *burp* :) you’re right though! Artificial sweeteners can react in some people’s bodies

    Reply
    • 6. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:50 pm

      I know it’s from stress but at times I’m not overwhelmed and my stomach gets incredible distended like I’m pregnant! Very uncomfortable :(

      Reply
  • 7. movesnmunchies  |  02/06/2011 at 7:45 am

    black bean and sweet tater sounds like a great combo!! i so wish i could find those bagels in the UK!

    Reply
    • 8. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:50 pm

      They’re not the best but better than those bagel thins at least lol

      Reply
  • 9. mealsformiles  |  02/06/2011 at 9:25 am

    I’m sorry about your stomach :( sometimes I get like that and it usually has to do with eating too much fiber – have you been upping your fiber intake a lot somehow?

    I have a giant biochemistry book staring that I hate just as much as you hate your gross anatomy book…grrr

    Reply
    • 10. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:52 pm

      I might lay off the beans for a bit and see if it helps, the thing is that if i don’t get plenty of fiber I tend to get really irregular.
      And i’ve never taken biochem but Orgo was 1000x worse than anatomy. :(

      Reply
  • 11. Sweet Cheeks  |  02/06/2011 at 12:19 pm

    sugar alcohols like sorbitol are MAJOR upset yummy causers. I have to stay away from them otherwise i’m super bloated. Bleh!

    Reply
    • 12. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:52 pm

      I’m starting my sorbitol free week today :D

      Reply
  • 13. danica  |  02/06/2011 at 12:26 pm

    what a great idea for a burrito! I always have those left over for dinner – its’s so hard to eat a whole can of black beans by yourself!
    I agree with everyone about the sweeteners, all my tummy problems went away when I stopped having them! Give it a try??

    Reply
    • 14. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 2:53 pm

      I’m starting to think it might be all the sugar free syrups. Hopefully it’ll work :)

      Reply
  • 15. cinnamonalicious  |  02/06/2011 at 3:34 pm

    110 cals for a bagel?!that’s so good!the only ones i can get here are over 200 so I end up cutting them into 4 slices instead!haha.
    I get terrible stomach problems too. I’ve almost cut dairy out of my diet and it helps, but hasn’t eliminated the problem.
    When I have some yogurt or cottage cheese now it feels uncomfortable but not unbearable, so I’m still trying to figure it out!

    Reply
  • 16. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  02/06/2011 at 4:58 pm

    It definitely does sound like some sort of food intolerance..and if it’s not lactose then it could be gluten or sorbitol. Try cutting out the artifical sweeteners for a while, and if it doesnt work..then do a gluten-free diet for a week or two. Hope you start to feel better!

    Reply
    • 17. Jenny  |  02/06/2011 at 6:11 pm

      Ah I think if it was gluten i’d freak out lol hopefully it’s just sorbitol

      Reply
  • 18. whatkateiscooking  |  02/06/2011 at 7:30 pm

    I LOVE sweet potatoes and black beans! Sorry to hear about your tummy troubles :( Hope you feel better!

    Reply
  • 19. TheNewHealthy  |  02/07/2011 at 1:40 am

    Hmm, I’d say you’re right with the artificial sweetener. Sugar-free candy (or anything really) always give me crazy stomach cramps/bloating! So I stay away from anything that contains it! Good luck. :)

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  02/07/2011 at 10:11 am

      Thanks :D

      Reply
  • 21. fashionfitnessfoodie  |  02/07/2011 at 7:24 am

    I need to find these bagels – Whole foods? I hope you are feeling better and not coming down with something!

    Reply
    • 22. Jenny  |  02/07/2011 at 10:12 am

      I found them at Publix! Buy one get one. I was very happy

      Reply
  • 23. Pancake  |  02/07/2011 at 9:29 am

    Black bean and sweet potato…the ultimate combo.

    Reply
  • 24. katiivey  |  02/07/2011 at 9:31 am

    I would def try cutting out the artificial sweeteners…which it sounds like you’re going to do :)

    And how do you make your sweet potato/bean combo??

    Reply
    • 25. Jenny  |  02/07/2011 at 10:13 am

      I made the sweet potato in the microwave and cut it into chunks. Then I seasoned the beans with like smoked paprika, cumin, garlic salt, whatever you like. Heat up beans in microwave and combine in one ultimate combo :D

      Reply
  • 26. paoang  |  02/07/2011 at 7:15 pm

    AHH those oats look so yum ♥
    And omg- I can already see that Gross Anatomy book in my future *shudder* I’m rooting for you!!!

    Reply
  • 27. Kat  |  02/07/2011 at 8:44 pm

    black beans and sweet potatoes are one of my favorite combos. I think they are totally perfect together!

    Reply
  • 28. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots  |  02/08/2011 at 3:01 am

    That wrap looks SO GOOD. I love sweet potatoes!!!

    And I really like alternative bagels for some reason…

    Reply
  • 29. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots  |  02/08/2011 at 3:02 am

    Oh, also, I used to just nuke ‘em for like 15-20 seconds I think so they were soft enough to cut. Just fyi :)

    Reply
    • 30. Jenny  |  02/08/2011 at 10:28 am

      Gah I didn’t even think of that!! Lol thankssss :D

      Reply
  • 31. This Italian Family  |  02/08/2011 at 11:48 am

    Hey, we have plates really similar to yours! Quinky dink. :)

    Sorry about the tummy issues. Hope you get it figured out!

    Reply
  • 32. simplynutritiouskate  |  02/08/2011 at 11:14 pm

    yum black bean and sweet potato= awesome combo. I hope your tummy feels better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 103 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

