Date With A Dietitian

02/03/2011 at 9:37 pm 22 comments

Today was a pretty exciting day, other than waking up at 8am :( Yesss I know that most of you wake up before the crack of dawn but I’ve gotten use to sleeping in. It’ll end soon when I start my 6am class (yup 6!!) ouchhh :(

I was quite in a rush so my breakfast oats were made in a microwave. I gotta say not really much different than stove top. Guess my skills are improving or so I like to think ;)

Made with 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 banana, 5g flax, 1/3 cup chocolate soy milk, 2/3 cup water, almond butter, and Kashi topping. Can’t forget the syrup!! Yummooo [in the words of Rachel Ray]

The only thing missing was coffee. No time to make a fresh pot, and I didn’t want to risk any stomach issues with some leftover 2 day coffee. These past few days has felt like a war between my stomach and me. I have yet to win a battle :(

After a great breakfast I was off to see a reputable RD located in Miami. A great friend of mine got me her number and the RD actually owns her own private practice. She was kind enough to meet at 10am at her office to guide me about what life is like in her shoes. This woman does it all.  As most of you know, I’ve been at a crossroads about what I want as a career and after today my mind is more at ease. She was completely honest and out came the good, the bad, and the ugly. Let’s just say there was a lot of ugly.

Unfortunately being a Nutritionist in today’s society is more hard work then it should be. No one wants to diet and exercise, they want the quick fixes: the pills, the gimmicks, the shots.

FAIL & FAIL

People only choose to hear what they want, and no matter how hard you try there isn’t much you can do to help someone that wants an alternative method.

She loves her job but it’s a sacrifice. Patients call and cancel, private practice mean no health benefits, and sick days mean no pay. The demands are excruciating but the rewards are meaningful and satisfying. It made me look at things from a new perspective.

Lunch today wasn’t exciting, just a small sandwich with some turkey but my snack was really delicious.

I finished off my Walden Farms chocolate dip so I used it as a reservoir for Greek yogurt. Fage with some cinnamon and splenda, topped with peanuts, strawberries, sugar free vanilla wafers, and caramel dip on top.

Can you believe the weekend is almost here? My, how time flies!

How is the weather treating everyone?

Entry filed under: Banana, Breakfast, Cereal, Chocolate, Life, Oatmeal, Yogurt. Tags: , .

Seasons? Nope, Not Here First February Friday

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alycia [Fit n Fresh]  |  02/03/2011 at 9:47 pm

    That’s really awesome that you went and spoke with a dietician! I really should try to set up something like that.

    I know the pay is a BIG difference between what we expected to be making as MDs lol but I feel like there are always ways to make more money. Little side practices and such – and if we still want to do med school in the future, it will always be there.

    The brother of a kid in one of my classes actually graduated as an RD and worked for Pitt. Eventually they signed a contract with him that if he worked for them as an RD for 4 years, they would pay to put him through med school. So there are always options! :)

    Reply
    • 2. Jenny  |  02/03/2011 at 10:07 pm

      Oh I agree, you can always go back to school since the health field overlaps everything. But after today I honestly don’t feel it’s what I should do. Lots of think about!

      Reply
      • 3. drdutch  |  02/04/2011 at 12:03 am

        Become a Maximized Living Chiropractor and teach people the truth about there bodies and how they work. Trust me i was on the verge of going to med school but was changed because of a Maximized Living Chiropractor. We teach all 5 essentials of living a maximized life.This was the best thing I have ever done. Medicine is very important and has its place in terms of emergency but when it comes to staying healthy it makes no sense. Im sure you would not agree that the more med you take the healthier you get and if that is true then why are we one of the sickest developed counties in the world? Just some incentive. God bless

  • 4. This Italian Family  |  02/03/2011 at 9:48 pm

    6am class??? That’s crazy! You will rock it, though! I have faith in you!

    One of my close girlfriends is a dietitian and what you wrote here is pretty much exactly some of the conversations she and I have had. Definitely positives and negatives. She gets discouraged by the number of people who cancel appointments or don’t take her counsel, but every now and then she sees that she has made a difference in someone’s life and it makes her feel great.

    Reply
    • 5. Jenny  |  02/03/2011 at 10:08 pm

      Aw that’s great. I think it’s something you have to really really want and I just don’t think I’m exactly there yet.

      Reply
  • 6. Erika  |  02/03/2011 at 10:31 pm

    That’s so cool that you got to talk to a dietitian! I want to be either a nutritionist, a dietitian, or a personal trainer when I grow up! :-)

    Reply
    • 7. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 9:55 am

      Definitely on the right track girl :)

      Reply
  • 8. Sophia @ Raven Waves  |  02/03/2011 at 11:32 pm

    This week totally flew! I’m so excited for the weekend. I just want to sleep in a bit :)

    Reply
    • 9. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 9:55 am

      Yes a little R & R

      Reply
  • 10. movesnmunchies  |  02/04/2011 at 1:53 am

    wow a dietician sounds awesome!! your snack is freakin awesome!

    Reply
    • 11. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 9:54 am

      Ha thank you :D

      Reply
  • 12. mealsformiles  |  02/04/2011 at 7:41 am

    that’s great you got to hang with an RD! Keep in mind though, only a minority of RDs are private practice full time. There are so many things you can do and people you can work with as an RD that are so, so rewarding!

    Reply
    • 13. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 9:56 am

      It was a lot to think about and since I’m more of a medical person the hospital setting really isn’t as rewarding for an RD.

      Reply
  • 14. Kristina  |  02/04/2011 at 11:21 am

    Great that you spoke with a dietician! I hope you feel like you learned something that matches your lifestyle:)

    Reply
  • 15. valgal123  |  02/04/2011 at 12:05 pm

    Yeah, its tough having a private practice. I wanted to become a dietitian, until I realized that they were like counselors that give you a diet plan. Nothing wrong with that, in fact that is great!
    My counselor used to be a dietitian, but she didn’t like following doctors orders, it was lacking freedom. I hope the RD works out well for you!

    Reply
    • 16. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 1:57 pm

      Yes I was really disillusioned when I spoke to her. Especially where I live, people just go to doctors to lose weight not dietitians. It’s very unfortunate

      Reply
  • 17. Meg  |  02/04/2011 at 3:14 pm

    “Fail and fail” hahaha exactly :) It must be so frustrating to deal with all of the gimmicks, especially dealing w/ people who actually believe in them!

    Reply
    • 18. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 3:43 pm

      Lol it is frustrating. Losing weight is easy but no one wants to put in the work

      Reply
  • 19. Ellie  |  02/04/2011 at 3:29 pm

    I really don’t like ADS that convey unhealthy messages.

    Reply
    • 20. Jenny  |  02/04/2011 at 3:43 pm

      Have you seen the Sensa infomercials?? Lol omg i mean sprinkle it on food and lose weight O_o gahhh

      Reply
  • 21. Justeen @ Blissful Baking  |  02/04/2011 at 6:00 pm

    Hi thanks for stopping by my blog :) Both your breakfast and snack look amazingly delicious! I am intrigued by that chocolate peanut butter, mmm :)

    Reply
  • 22. kissmybroccoli  |  02/04/2011 at 11:43 pm

    Wow, I never really thought about how hard Dietician’s have it, but it makes total sense! I worked at GNC for four years while in college and it was so difficult to talk to people about how to reach their goals in a healthy manner. All they wanted was the latest and greatest/fastest diet pill! It was like talking to a brick wall most of the time! So many times, I just wanted to say, “Look, your not gonna just take a pill and get skinny!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email to receive subscriptions

Join 103 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Fit Girl Foodie

Recent Posts

COMMIT TO BE FIT


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

